To Bahia Honda Key: Battling the Breeze - Winging it up the Atlantic Coast - CycleBlaze

March 26, 2024

To Bahia Honda Key: Battling the Breeze

The wind is still wild this morning.  It blows over our picnic table towards the water, threatening to carry away cups, stuff sacks, towels, anything that's not pinned down. We're attempting a granola breakfast with powdered milk and I'm gathering up loose bits, tucking things under my arms and legs and stashing them in bags, just trying to keep it together. 

I'm pretty happy with our starting time of 9:15, considering the extra difficulty of packing things up in the gale.

The picnic table is on the other side of our tent, just a few feet from the drink.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonI’m sure glad we don’t camp! We’ve had some really windy days biking but I’m glad we have a place to stay inside. I hope things improve.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Janice BranhamTo Rachael AndersonIt definitely takes a certain mindset to get into it. The weather has improved, that helps.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

As we start off on the Overseas Heritage Trail the wind is calmer than expected. A mile in I figure it out. We're riding west, not east toward the mainland. When I started up the route on my Wahoo, it asked me the usual question - do I want to be routed to the start? I usually reject this offer, but accepted the help this time since I've gotten confused trying to navigate around this campground. The problem is, when I did the route months ago the start was at the Southernmost Point, which is 5 miles west of the campground. Coulda been worse. 

Barry and Mike are very patient about the goof as we come about. It's good that we have a shortish ride today. 

The Overseas Heritage Trail beckons, in the wrong direction.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Now the wind blows at us somewhere between a headwind and a crosswind. The hedges to our right are a decent windbreak. You can really tell how much wind they are blocking when we cross a bridge and lose the hedge.

Sometimes the trail ends and we ride the shoulder, which is comfortably wide. Occasionally the trail shifts to the other side of the road. It's not always worth it to cross traffic to get there though so we mostly stick to the south side.

A few iguanas skitter across the path in front of us. It's funny to watch them run, wheeling their hind legs around and waving their tails. Those busy legs are speedy.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Beautiful blue-green water
Heart 7 Comment 0
Very little commerce out here, and not many billboards littering the view.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Much of the trail runs on the Old Overseas Highway which isn't in great shape. It's closed at some of the bridge crossings so we get back on the road. The shoulder is fine, its just loud.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I intended to stop for provisions at the Winn-Dixie in Big Pine Key but missed it. Not going back. I'll make the bet that we'll find something, or get by on energy bars, cashews and the last apple in the food bag. 

Barry and Mike both ride behind me and let me set the pace, patient souls that they are. When I stop to put on more sunscreen, Mike rides ahead to snag the hiker biker site at Bahia Honda State Park. I'm glad when either of them decides to open it up and take off. Ride your ride. 

At the park we find a snack bar with sandwiches and load up for lunch and dinner. They're heavy on the mayo but it's food.

This is a much roomier campsite than the last one. The wind keeps the bugs away and has died down enough that we don't have to worry about things blowing away.

We're at the end of a point with water on both sides.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Barry hits the shower and Mike heads to the beach, but I'm knackered. I tried to keep up a decent pace but am still a turtle. The guys could easily ride much faster. I feel very lucky and grateful to have such great travel buddies.

Once the tent is up I crawl in for a nap. It's pretty warm in here but the breeze makes it tolerable and I don't move for a couple of hours.

This little dude was camped on my pannier when I emerged from the tent. Maybe a Curly-tail Lizard?
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltYup!

An introduced, possibly invasive, but not really bad.

https://wildsouthflorida.com/curly-tailed.lizard.html
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

I get going again early enough to get in a little beach time before sunset. Near the bridge I stop to join a little crowd watching the sun as it hovers over the sea.

Pleasant beach by the old railroad bridge
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Just as the sun drops below the horizon, the group raises their conch shell horns and blows. Pretty cool tradition.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 35 miles (56 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0