Another day in Bilbao - Looping the Pyrenees - CycleBlaze

May 5, 2024

Another day in Bilbao

We started the day with the hotel breakfast again (Al likes buffets) and then got our act together for a short ride, out to the Vizcaya Bridge and back. Almost completely flat, but with a short climb to make sure the gears worked, and with a gentle breeze (against us both ways, of course, or so it seemed to me).

Looking at the Potugalete end of the Vizcaya Bridge (Bizkaiko Zubia), it’s hard to remember how tiny it looked from the plane.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Portugalete deserves a better look. This is upstream of the bridge
Heart 5 Comment 0
And this is downstream
Heart 7 Comment 0

The bike rack at the Getzko end looked really sketchy, with abandoned and mauled bikes attached to it, so we took it in turns to take the “scenic walkway” across the top of the bridge. Al went first because I’ve seen it before.  Then it was my turn. 

If you travel to Bilbao on a giant cruise ship, out there is as close as you get.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The wheels of the gondola roll along the shiny rail.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hard to read because it’s printed over the braille version but interesting.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The last 3 lines of this one…
Heart 2 Comment 0
On the scenic walkway
Heart 4 Comment 0
Al is waiting with the bikes.
Heart 2 Comment 0

It was a fast ride back.

I don’t think the elevation at the beginning is correct. It’s probably caused by my Garmin adjusting to its new location.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We put our bikes in our room, changed out of our riding kit, and this time looked near the Plaza del Funicular for a place to eat. There were several possibilities, not just the tourist traps of the old town or the locals’ out-on-the-town bars of the Abando district. We settled on a tiny place that had a couple of vacant tables and each ordered from the “platos combinados” list. I chose chicken breast and Al “hamburgueso”. I got slices of sautéed chicken breast with fries, a small lettuce, tomato, and onion salad, and a couple of croquettes. Al got not the burger he was expecting, but two burger patties, two fried eggs, fries, and two croquettes. No bun or condiments. As we were leaving, two guys seated near us were getting actual burgers. I guess we learned what combination plates are all about and will know for next time. 

We arrived back at the hotel just as the promised deluge began. When (if) it ends, we’ll walk over to Decathlon so I can replace the spork I forgot. I like having it for picnics. Now that I think about it, I forgot to bring a knife too. Oops. 

Today's ride: 25 km (16 miles)
Total: 25 km (16 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Rachael AndersonThanks for mentioning the spork and knife. We had a spoon and knife but lost them.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Karen PoretSo pick up a spoon, too and you’re all set! :)
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Karen PoretA spork is a combination spoon and fork but Decathlon was closed when we walked by. Sunday!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Karen PoretTo Jacquie GaudetMy big goof! Sorry! I don’t know why I didn’t remember that! The spork is one of my older daughter’s favorite “tools” to have at work..;)
Decathlon ..I really hope to finally get to this store when I am in the Netherlands or Belgium soon.. I understand it is nirvana for sports/outdoor users like us! And, your last name ends in “et” like mine! Bet you hear “gawdette” like I’ve had “pour it”..
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago