The Plan - A Hop, Skip and a Jump (Tour 25) - 2024 🇭🇷 - CycleBlaze

October 4, 2023

The Plan

WITH maybe a little too much time to plan, it means I can keep second-guessing myself and changing everything around. So, that may happen. In the meantime, not only are the flights booked but so are virtually all of the accommodations. Though pre-booked, a few interesting things have already occurred on booking dot com. So far two pre-booked places contacted me a few days later to advise that the place was 'no longer available those days'. I'm not certain, but I am guessing that as worldwide travel continues to increase, hotels and such could ask a higher rate, so with me being locked in to a low advance rate, the allure of higher fees is too much. I questioned one place and they got quite snarky. I think my theory just might be correct.

At this point, our plan is to fly from northern Ontario, Canada (home) to Split, Croatia. In Split we (I) will assemble the folding bikes (assuming my Dahon can be repaired after serious in-transit damage after Tour 24. Update December 2023 - Dahon hub pin replaced and works perfectly.) then take a ferry through the islands south to Dubrovnik. I was in Dubrovnik in 2003 and though it was busy, it was not overly so. In 2024 I am somewhat concerned with the GOT effect. At least we'll have two nights there so hopefully the hoards will be back onto their cruise ships by dinner time.

Heading north, we'll take EuroVelo 8 before veering out to the islands of Korcula and Hvar. The exact route may change but the idea is to meander to and fro on the islands, exploring small towns, small beaches and quiet roads before reaching each spot for the evening. As far as I can tell our folding bikes are permitted on the ferries and our final ferry ride will be back to Split where we will re-pack the bikes, enjoy an extra day in the city, and finally return home.

In short, seaside riding, seafood meals, quiet roads and astounding beauty. I can't wait.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Steve Miller/GrampiesYou might have it right with the cancellation problem on Booking dot com. Are you aware that booking seems to make the place that cancels take responsibility for finding a similar alternative accommodation, and if they cannot/will not booking will cover a price difference of about 25 euros? We had this happen 3 times so far this trip, and each time the final resolution was satisfactory and in our favour, price wise.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Brent IrvineTo Steve Miller/GrampiesNo, I did not know this. Maybe why the guy got snarky when I questioned him!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Brent IrvineTry calling booking dot com and asking them about the cancellation and what you can do about it. Hopefully they will have a suggestion.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Jacquie GaudetJust got around to reading this. In 2022, we had the host of a B&B I’d booked contact us through Booking and ask us to cancel our reservation. The email as sent by Booking stated that, if I did nothing, our reservation would stand.

Then, when we arrived on a Saturday evening, the place was closed. When I finally reached the host, she said she was “at the hospital”. I thought, okay, was she called in to work or did she have to take someone to Emergency? But no, she’d had an operation. Now I know why *we* were requested to cancel.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago