April 11, 2024 - Yup, it's almost that time - A Hop, Skip and a Jump (Tour 25) - 2024 🇭🇷 - CycleBlaze

April 11, 2024

April 11, 2024 - Yup, it's almost that time

Within a week the wheels will be on the move

WITHOUT  whinging too much, I'll simply say it has been quite the time since the last tour, when Alex and I cycled the Atlantic coast south of Portugal. It has been somewhat of a bucket of irritations for a while, so it will be nice to get out on the road to feel the fresh sea air on my face.

As always seems to happen before I set out, things got a bit busy around here. I am scurrying around to get the final details sorted out. Yes, the folding bikes are in their cases. Yes, I have a list of what I need and most of it is in a pile and ready to go. No, not everything is in the case with the bikes yet. No, I haven't determined whether or not another duffel bag is required to fit everything that is needed. No, I haven't gathered my tool kit for the road. But yes, as with many other tours, my Mom and Dad are ready to bring us to the Timmins airport (CYTS), and are pleased to be playing an integral role in a bike trip once again. (It was my Dad who dropped me off at CYYZ for Tour 1 in 1986.) Moreover, with the CYTS to CYYZ leg having been bumped from 430 am to 1010 am, I think their level of 'pleased' has substantially increased.

Crazy thoughts in my head...

- Am I 'betraying' Portugal by going somewhere else?

- I am physically unfit this time, so will I be fine on such hilly terrain?

- Will flying economy class (non-business class) be physically difficult and painful?

- Will the airport lounges allow us in for the whole day  before our evening flight to Munich?

- Will the transfer from Split airport to our B &B be straightforward?

Oy, very first world thoughts, but they are what is in my head nonetheless. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesFirst world person, first world worries. But still, don't worry, be happy. It will all be OK in the end, because it always is.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Brent IrvineTo Steve Miller/GrampiesMy logical side knows this; my worrisome side wonders.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago