To Flagler Beach: no lobsters here - Winging it up the Atlantic Coast - CycleBlaze

April 6, 2024

To Flagler Beach: no lobsters here

The Beetles are crawling around the campground early this morning, belching smoke and backfiring. Charming. As I walk to the bathroom (the dirtiest I've seen so far) I'm picking my way around guy lines that a camper has stretched from his tent across the narrow path. We can't get out of here fast enough. 

The good news is the gang is back together. Barry's bike is fully functional, the car is gone and the bags are loaded up. We're close to Daytona Beach so I've packed my swimsuit near the top of my bag.

Good bike lane on the road east to Daytona. Usually I crop out my shoe; it's making a cameo today.
Heart 3 Comment 0
All together now
Heart 5 Comment 0

Beach Street in Daytona is quiet in the morning. As we ride along the attractive waterfront I start to wonder when we'll get to the beach. A map check shows the bridge to it a couple miles back. Nuts, routing fail. I dislike going backwards almost as much as Barry does, and Mike is miles ahead. There are plenty of other beaches by the sea. Onward.

Heart 2 Comment 0
On Beach Street
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
We'll just wave at Daytona Beach out there across the bay
Heart 2 Comment 0

Crossing over the Intracoastal Waterway we ride through Ormond-by-the-Sea on busy A1A for awhile, then shift over to the quieter road along the Halifax River.

Four-wheel-drive tracks on Ormond Beach
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ogling the homes by the Halifax River
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

I have a hankering for a lobster roll. There are lobsters in Florida but I haven't seen much in the restaurants. It's a treat we always indulge in on Cape Cod. We'll get it steamed at the fish market and have a feast with sweet corn, salad, fries and lots of melted butter. Uncle Ray never touched the stuff, he hated fish. Claire filled me in on the story there. Pépère, my grandfather, owned a grocery store. On Fridays he would bring home whatever fish hadn't been sold, no matter how hairy, for the family's dinner. Ray said fish was penance for being Catholic.

There's no lobster to be found around here. We might just have to ride to Cape Cod for it. I'll settle for grouper at Lagerheads Bar & Grill. 

Fried grouper, mmm mmm mmm
Heart 0 Comment 0
Festive scene at Lagerheads
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

We cross back over to the mainland and ride along Bulow Creek for awhile, following a beautiful white heron who moves too fast for me to get a picture.

Along Bulow Creek
Heart 2 Comment 0
Publix has been our go-to for supply stops. We always seem to find one close to wherever we're staying for the night. This one is less than two miles from the campground.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Bulow RV Resort is a fine stop for the night. It's quiet and the sites are nice and big.

No exhaust-belching Beetles here!
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 511 miles (822 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0