Days 9-14 - Valentine to Springview & TDN Part 2 - Younger on Two Wheels 2024: Nebraskathon - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2024 to June 30, 2024

Days 9-14 - Valentine to Springview & TDN Part 2

Another sunset view of the tent camp at sunset.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Seemingly every vulture in town was on the cell tower.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Tom and I took the Cowboy  Trail out to the trestle bridge on our rest day.

Niobrara River
Heart 1 Comment 0
Niobrara River 2
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hwy 20 Bridge over the Niobrara
Heart 1 Comment 0
Trestle bridge over the Niobrara
Heart 1 Comment 0
Trestle Bridge
Heart 1 Comment 0
Niobrara River 3
Heart 1 Comment 0
Great Mullein
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cyclists on the trestle bridge
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bikes ready to go in the morning
Heart 1 Comment 0
20 minutes in - final morning
Heart 3 Comment 0
Friends at the finish! Lucas, Tom, John, Jim.
Heart 2 Comment 0

So Lucas & Jim were headed back to Orange County, CA and graciously offered me a ride to Denver (since they were passing through). I took them up on that offer and ended up home on June 30th. 

I have mixed feelings about not finishing the ride I intended to complete. In the end, the winds and temperatures this year threatened to derail my ride and leave me stranded somewhere. I realized that a ride that isn't fun isn't worth completing, and decided to cut it short.

At this point, I'm back in Denver, safe and sound, and relishing sleeping in my own bed.

I appreciate my best friend, Tom, who drove out here from Milwaukee, Jimmy (Sparky), who came from Dillon, CO, Jeff & Diane from Morrill, NE with the SpeedSlug, and new friends Lucas, Jim, Steve, and his daughter, Sandy from Lincoln, NE. Also, all the riders I've seen on this ride before, but never spoken with. It was great to see you all again!

Cheers!

John (YOTW)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0