Day 7 - Hyannis to Thedford - Younger on Two Wheels 2024: Nebraskathon - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2024

Day 7 - Hyannis to Thedford

The town I stayed in last night is super-small. Fewer than 200 citizens.

Heart 0 Comment 0

But there is an establishment called the Hyannis Hotel. Built in 1893 (according to the landlady). Very small rooms, and not at all fancy, but everything worked, and I slept well. Here's the Hotel this morning:

Hyannis Hotel
Heart 1 Comment 0

The dining room/bar was almost deserted last night (on a Saturday) but the landlady said there was a big wedding in town and most of her evening traffic would be there. 

Sunday being my birthday and knowing my options for food were very limited where I was headed, I treated myself to a nice steak dinner.

I didn't take many pictures today. It looked just like yesterday for the most part. No wildflowers as the edge of the road seemed to have been mowed a few days ago.

Heart 1 Comment 0

I did have a light tailwind, but the day got quite hot - well up into the 90s, so it became a bit of a slog just watching the miles roll by.

I tried B&W for this as it sort of highlights northern Nebraska's "restrained beauty" (as my dad put it the other day).
Heart 2 Comment 0
Just mile after mile of this. I can only imagine the settlers in wagon-trains seeing this day after day and wondering when it might change.
Heart 1 Comment 0
At first I couldn't tell if this was a pronghorn or just a deer, but got my answer when it bounced away. Pronghorn. You can see the beginnings of the horns on the forehead if you zoom in.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The bustling metropolis of Thedford. Population 211.
Heart 1 Comment 0

And that was my day. I crossed into central time, so lost an hour. But still had just enough time to scoot over to the grocery store and grab a frozen dinner before they closed at 4pm. Otherwise the local gas station would have had to be my dinner stop.

Tomorrow I head straight north to Valentine. I think it's going to be another hot one.

Today's ride: 67 miles (108 km)
Total: 426 miles (686 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0