Day 5 - Scottsbluff to Alliance - Younger on Two Wheels 2024: Nebraskathon - CycleBlaze

June 21, 2024

Day 5 - Scottsbluff to Alliance

So there were tornado-level winds near where I stayed last night. Local news reported sightings of funnel clouds forming, and the friends I had dinner with drove past areas where wind had tossed stuff around (including empty train-cars!) Glad it wasn't worse!

Friday dawned cool and gray - and stayed gray most of the day. Temperatures hovered in the mid-60s most of my ride. I didn't mind too much - there was a head-wind for a bit, but it wasn't crazy like Wednesday.

Gray road, gray sky, gray mood...
Heart 0 Comment 0

At least the road was flat and had a wide shoulder, so I shouldn't complain!

Cows. Just cows. Oh...and bluffs!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back at Scottsbluff from the first hill.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Red-Tailed Hawk (I think)
Heart 0 Comment 0
View west from the tallest hill, where I turned from Hwy 26 to 385.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And the view looking east from the other side.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Well there weren't even cows to look at on this highway - just road and trains, so I tried shooting  a few wildflowers.

Another Showy Milkweed, but these were growing wild all along the road. Unlike at the visitors center they didn't have bees - just lots of flies. I managed to find one with not-so-many flies.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think this is a yucca plant, but not sure.
Heart 0 Comment 0
White Prickly Poppy
Heart 0 Comment 0

Eventually, what looked like Alliance came into view on the horizon.

I think that's a town over there!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looks like I made it!
Heart 0 Comment 1
Thomas SabourinThese style water towers always remind me of the door locking mechanisms in cars made in the 60's and 70's.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Overall, not too tough a day, if not very scenic. Tomorrow I head straight east to Hyannis. This is entering the part of Nebraska where between the start and end of the ride, there are NO places to get anything. Not even a gas station. 60 miles between stops is not a big deal for a car, but on a bicycle, it's the whole day. I'll stock up with snacks and drinks before I head out. It'll be sunnier and warmer. Cheers!

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 298 miles (480 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0