Day 4 - Kimball to Scottsbluff - Younger on Two Wheels 2024: Nebraskathon - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2024

Day 4 - Kimball to Scottsbluff

Well this was a much more pleasant day than yesterday! Warmer, lighter winds, and a route I've done twice before, so it's familiar.

Morning in Nebraska
Heart 2 Comment 0

As hot and dry or even as stormy as the afternoons can get, Nebraska mornings always seem to get off to a beautiful start.

Rollers
Heart 1 Comment 0

Most of the route to Scottsbluff is these gentle rollers. This highway has a nice wide shoulder, two lanes for traffic to share, and nothing too steep or long. Perfect summer riding!

Scottsbluff is over that ridge and maybe the one after that.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I never get tired of looking at these sandstone formations
Heart 2 Comment 0
I asked them to pose...
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I need to climb that pass
Heart 1 Comment 0
2-mile hill over Wildcat Ridge
Heart 1 Comment 0

No sound but imagine the sound of panting...

View from Wildcat Ridge visitor's center
Heart 1 Comment 0
American Goldfinch (taken at the Wildcat Ridge visitor's center)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Showy Milkweed (also at the visitor's center)
Heart 2 Comment 0

The reward - downhill at nearly 40mph!

Heart 0 Comment 1
Deb AydelotteCan you smell the beet processing plant?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

I got to Scottsbluff way too early to check into my hotel, so stopped for lunch. Around 3pm as I was approaching the hotel, the sky was looking pretty ominous to the west.

Storm's a comin'
Heart 0 Comment 0

I checked in, while several guests were figuring out how to stack their cars under the hotel's covered entranceway as hail was predicted.

Soon after, I got a warning on my phone that baseball-sized hail was possible!

Heart 0 Comment 0

It did come, but nothing bigger than large marbles. Here's the view from my hotel window:

Pretty glad I wasn't still trying to ride my bike. That would have been nasty!

Tomorrow I head northeast to Alliance, NE. Highs in the 70s with light winds, so it should be a nice ride!

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 245 miles (394 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Deb AydelotteYikes! Do you have hail insurance?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
John AydelotteI think it's called life insurance when a baseball-sized hailstone takes me out!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago