Day 3 - Cheyenne to Kimball, NE - Younger on Two Wheels 2024: Nebraskathon - CycleBlaze

June 19, 2024

Day 3 - Cheyenne to Kimball, NE

Sorry folks - no media for today - all I had time to do was keep my head down and keep pedaling.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I don't think I've ever enjoyed a day of cycling LESS than today. It started out cold (39 when I got up) but was 45 when I left at 8am. Glad I brought my beanie and full-fingered gloves! But already there was this 20mph chilly wind out of the south. It didn't let up all day - increasing above 25 by afternoon. So basically I spent the day trying to keep my speed above 10mph and stay warm.

Today just ended up being a grind - a 7-hour cardio session.

Since my route was due east, this was a crosswind from mostly SSE. It made it hard to keep my line and kept blowing me out into traffic. Traffic wasn't heavy but on US-30 (my old friend) speed limits are 65. Also my hands hurt from maintaining a death-grip on the handlebars.

It did briefly warm up to 70 as I hit Pine Bluffs, but that didn't last, and by the time I got to Kimball it was back down to 53. 

So apologies for no pretty pictures or videos. Today was mostly gray with little sun, and a lot of my view was I-80 to my left or right. Not worth photographing...

I'll try harder tomorrow - It will be warmer up into the 80s with much less wind - more what I'm used to. Heading north to Scottsbluff.

Today's ride: 69 miles (111 km)
Total: 200 miles (322 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Annette SchneiderHello John... I'm enjoying your journal. Kimball NE is my birthplace. My mother's family were homesteaders in the Kimball/Dix area. Kimball is rarely mentioned in the CB journals, and your entry caught my eye. The wind never stops blowing on the plains!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
John AydelotteTo Annette SchneiderHi Annette. This is my 3rd visit to Kimball on a bike and I did the exact same route 3 years ago from Cheyenne, so I'm not unaware. I don't remember it being as unpleasant as yesterday was. I met another rider in Kimball who also came from Cheyenne who felt the same. It's supposed to moderate a bit for Thursday.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago