Day 1 - Denver to Loveland - Younger on Two Wheels 2024: Nebraskathon - CycleBlaze

June 17, 2024

Day 1 - Denver to Loveland

Sorry I didn't post this last night - the small hotel I stayed in was charming and quirky, but had abysmally slow wi-fi. I had to go find a breakfast spot to do some uploading.

Well the teal tank was all packed up by 7am - too early to leave, so I just took a picture, and endlessly tweaked stuff on the bike.

Teal Tank aka Noble Steed, ready to go
Heart 1 Comment 0

I left home about 9am - earlier would have meant I might arrive before 3pm and have to wait to check in.

Here's a video montage of my first few miles through Denver's north side and suburbs. It starts out in pretty, green neighborhoods, but quickly becomes industrial with seemingly endless highways and train tracks to cross over/under. There's even an oil refinery I have to go past which didn't smell great. 

Red-winged Blackbird
Heart 0 Comment 0
Better make sure I don't fall off and become carrion!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some sort of martin or swallow
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltBarn swallow, I think.

https://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Barn_Swallow/id
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Nice trail, but even with the wall you still get tons of I-25 noise!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The northern Denver suburbs go on forever...
Heart 0 Comment 0
At least most of these newer trails have good road crossings
Heart 0 Comment 0
Finally out of the suburbs and into farm country.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Young cows are always nervous of bikes - most run away.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At least a fair amount of it was on trails. The second half of the day was all minor highways - one in particular was about 12 miles worth. When I did this ride three years ago I think I started on a Sunday and there wasn't a ton of traffic. Today there were a LOT of trucks! I was passing by the booming town of Longmont, and much of the traffic that didn't want to deal with I-25 a few miles east seemed to be on this road. At least the trucks moved over for me better - a couple of minivans were way too close!

And while the morning temperatures were pretty nice, the afternoon quickly became hot - moving up into the low 90s. It was 92 when I arrived at my hotel for the night.

Tomorrow should be much cooler, but windier. I'll take the cool!

Today's ride: 65 miles (105 km)
Total: 65 miles (105 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0