Why and Where - An Island Sojourn - CycleBlaze

Why and Where

Plans Are Meaningless - Planning is Everything

It's been over two years now since I've been on a bike trip as life happened and I had to return to the world of working stiffs. Now that I have some vacation time accrued and the ability to use it, it's off on another, brief, adventure. 

I had originally considered the Olympic Discovery Trail, but there are sections that don't appeal to me and time wise I could not put together an itinerary that worked. So it's up to Vancouver Island, where I've biked before and visited many other times. 

The plan is to drive to Tsawwassen and park the car, ferry to Swartz Bay, another ferry from Brentwood Bay to Mill Bay, out to the Cowichan Valley Trail and ride across the Kinsol Trestle, then into Duncan for the night. Day two is a ride up to the Crow and Gate Tavern for lunch (I have to have a Scotch egg), then on to Yellow Point Lodge for a couple of nights. Day three might be a ride up to Naniamo and a loop around Gabriola Island, or possibly a shorter ride in the area. Day four is a return to home, catching the Duke Point ferry back. 

I do have some alternate routing if things go south, but I'm not skipping the two nights at Yellow Point. Still waiting to hear back, if I ever do, form the people at the Park N Go in Tsawwassen. I want to catch the 0800 boat and their posted open time is 0800. 

We shall see.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Scott AndersonGreat! I can follow you for a nice change.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago