Day 4: Rest day in Quincy - Destruction and Renewal - CycleBlaze

May 19, 2024

Day 4: Rest day in Quincy

Today is a rest day in Quincy. I slept late, then had breakfast at the Morning Thunder Cafe which I can see from the Inn. Then I went back to bed until 1 PM. Later in the afternoon I walked the historic district loop, about 20 blocks. Before the tour I downloaded and printed the excellent Walking Tour brochure.

Yesterday I took many pictures in Quincy but didn't put them in the journal entry because it already had too many pictures. Today's journal entry is all about the town of Quincy, California, which is in an extremely remote valley deep in the Sierra Nevada mountains. 3412 feet elevation. The town was founded in 1858 during the Gold Rush. Over the years it prospered by reinventing itself. Mining, then railroad building in the early 1900's, then logging and sawmills for much of the 20th century. Population is 1368 now, but it was surely larger during some periods in the past. 

Quincy is still a timber town-the largest employer is a Sierra Pacific Industries sawmill. But modern automated sawmills don't employ very many people nowadays. I think Quincy has the potential to be a popular tourist destination, but the town isn't trying very hard to make that happen.

It's actually to my benefit that Quincy grew, then stagnated. Quincy has a large inventory of historic buildings and my lodging is in the middle of it. That makes Quincy an ideal rest day for me. I enjoyed seeing the town up close, thankful that it didn't burn in the Dixie fire.

Last night Quincy Charter School had its prom at the Plumas County Courthouse.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I never imagined a school prom might be in a courthouse lobby.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Downtown Quincy has many historic buildings. I had dinner at Quintopia Brewing, the building on the left.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Assessors Office. For assessing gold, I presume.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Downtown Quincy, California.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Plumas Club has been a bar since 1914.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The 1860 law office is one of the oldest buildings in town.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Masonic lodge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Starting the tour of historic homes with my home, Quincy Featherbed Inn.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Next door is the only house with a lot of stone work.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The 1862 Kellogg House is one of the oldest houses in town.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pink and rust making a statement.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Classic Craftsman style house.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rare colonial style house.
Heart 1 Comment 0
First Methodist Church, built in 1875.
Heart 0 Comment 0
1905 Quincy School is now the school district administration building.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Maybe this guy owned the local glass company. No more front porch.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Vote for The Dude, man.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This plaster work looks bad and is out of character for a timber town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
St. John Catholic church.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This house is in town, but the scene is like a country farm house.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Partially enclosed front porch makes more sense to me.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

My home in Quincy is the Quincy Featherbed Inn. It's not a B&B, they don't serve breakfast. I don't think the main house has guest rooms. But there are 5 upstairs guest rooms in the back. The rear additions are quite old, so this is probably a "generational home" that was expanded when the children formed families of their own.

Quincy Featherbed Inn. My room is the rear most upstairs room.
Heart 2 Comment 0

My bike is allowed in the room, but of course I have to carry it up the stairs. The bike stayed in the room today. The room is not extremely spacious because of the sloped ceiling with dormers. The shower is in a tiny clawfoot tub that doesn't work very well and is rather dangerous to use. The room has a small window air conditioner that cools the room slowly. So I started it early in the afternoon. The location makes up for the flaws-in the middle of the historic district, close to restaurants and a convenience store. Quincy has 2 small motels that aren't as close to services.

My room at Quincy Featherbed Inn.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I didn't spend much time on the balcony. I was mostly inside resting or out exploring the town. And it was buggy around sunset.

Balcony shared by two rooms.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Previous days were totally sunny, but today was partly cloudy with a high of 73F. Closer to normal. The weather is cooling down at about the same time I go to lower, warmer elevations.

I didn't feel sore but I felt tired all day. Finally in the evening I felt somewhat energetic. Tomorrow will also be a recovery day because it's short and mostly downhill, with a long rest at a hot spring.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0