Tina's Rig - Two of Us... - CycleBlaze

May 10, 2024

Tina's Rig

So I'm going to geek out for a minute. Here's my bike. The battery is large, but also looks really big because I am short and my bike is small. While I rode across the country on a different rig in 2018, this one has carried me on a thousand-mile tour in Nova Scotia, and a couple of 300+ mile tours. I love it. If I'm running out of range for whatever reason I can tune down the assist level. Jamie didn't mention it, but I ride on the highest assist most of the time in order keep up with him.  So I have plenty of leeway if we're on a long climb, riding into a headwind, long mileage, etc. I'll just be slower. I still have, under "normal" conditions, a 70-80 mile range on the highest assist level.

Also, for those of you curious about electrical outlets for charging, they are fairly easy to find. Most restaurants (and isn't eating out one of the main joys of riding?) have them, either indoors or out. Any store with vending machines has outlets behind the machines (e.g., supermarkets, Dollar Stores, gas/convenience stores). Most campgrounds have them in, at least, the bathrooms.  On this bike, I rarely need to recharge during the day, but if I do, it's a good excuse to chill out for awhile. :-)

Yamaha pedal assist ebike
Heart 2 Comment 0

About the water bottle challenge. I am able to have the cage on my handlebars because I use Velo Orange Crazy Bars. They are really W-I-D-E. They come with bull horns, which I cut off. I put a mirror in one of the holes thereby created.   The bars give you alot of control for steering, are swept back so you're not all stretched out (a concern for short people with short torsos and arms), and have plenty of room for things like ebike monitors and bottle cages.  I have never looked back - absolutely love these bars! The Jones H-Bars are similar, also having extra space for attachments.  I find I really like this position for the water bottle - no need to lean over to fish around for it on the down or seat tube.  

Okay, no more technical talk. I promise the next time you hear from me it'll be more about birds than bikes!

Velo Orange Crazy Bars
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0