Tina goes rogue - Two of Us... - CycleBlaze

Tina goes rogue

Mt Ranier. 14,000 feet of relief
Heart 0 Comment 0
Driving back through the North Cascades
Heart 0 Comment 0
Me standing with a dead whitebark pine and a living one. This species lives to fantastic ages and is, sadly, highly endangered.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I say going rogue because I'm driving a car instead of biking.

After a train ride back to Seattle I got to visit my high school friend Jill. She has such an active life there. It was fun to drop in and do Tai Chi (first time I've ever tried it), meditation and a walk on the West Seattle beach. Beautiful!  Jill drove me all the way back to Eileen's in Port Townsend. On the ferry we had a magnificent view of Mt Ranier, Mt Baker, the Olympics and the North Cascades. Thanks, Jill, for everything!

After a very short visit with Eileen (thanks, Ei!) it was on to McCall, Idaho in the heart of the Rockie Mountains to see Ingrid and Dave. Ingrid and I led bike tours together in the 80s. We took a walk near their house, which is right up against the mountains, ate huckleberry ice cream (yum!) and took a spectacular short walk along the top of Brundage Mountain (a ski area).  Mountains everywhere!  Whitebark pines, flowers, birds - absolutely marvelous.  Thanks so much, you two!

Now Jamie and I are taking some precious time together before he continues by bike and I continue by car. I'll let Jamie tell of our time at Hell Creek on the Fort Peck Reservoir in the badlands of the Missouri Breaks.  

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0