Something different - Two of Us... - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2024

Something different

Lake Itasca to Pine Woods

Avg speed 12.4

Daily miles 100.11

Cumulative miles 2,101

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

A couple of different things. First, I was on a bike trail for most of the day.  Second, I'm at a "primitive campsite" accompanied by way too many mosquitos and ticks. I'll be reluctant to promoting camp or would camp again. Currently eating an extended dinner at a bar and grill to avoid my campsite. The trail is a nice change but not without it's difficulties. Mainly way too many roots and cracks. Still I think I prefer it to the road but beginning to be not so sure. 

And two pictures RWGPS as I'm now on a different map section, 6. Woo and hoo.

Rain due for Tomorrow so I got a room about 60 miles off. So, essentially a zero day at this point. The wind may not be loving me tomorrow, so it could be longer then I want. I'll be in Little Falls and hopefully will check out the town and local festivities regardless of the rain. Fireworks!!!!

Our entourage is splitting up a bit. Kara is somewhere not far from Sarah, it seems. Sarah is, I think with Ricky and Alyssa at a campsite at. Round Lake. And I'm about maybe a day further down the road. M

Lake Itasca in the morning and the beginning of the Mississippi.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Opening rapid!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The water seemed quite warm at 6am but that was only at the edge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
It keeps on coming...
Heart 0 Comment 0
And going
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Paul Bunyan Trail was a mixture of open,
Heart 0 Comment 0
Horrible pavement...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
And a bit of green tunnel.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There's a porcupine up in there somewhere.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today, I used a roadside bicycle pump, that a few towns set up ( along with some tools),  for the bicyclists coming through. We'll this one in Pine Wood was broke and basically have me a couple of flats because it's broken! Fortunately there was a gas station across the way with an air hose. My little adapter worked perfect and now I have two hard tire and a huge weight off my mind. 

Primitive camping in Pine Woods.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Campsite River
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 100 miles (161 km)
Total: 2,094 miles (3,370 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0