Into The Great Wide Open - Two of Us... - CycleBlaze

June 16, 2024

Into The Great Wide Open

W Glacier to Cut Bank

Avg speed 12.7

What a day. Mostly, Tina is now getting ready to go home. She stayed in W Glacier while I continued east. We had a great trip together(as usual), especially the last few days. 

My intention was to get to E Glacier and stay there. But there is a winter storm warning for tomorrow. for the area and I was feeling antsy about riding in it. So I took advantage of the tail wind, cloud cover and energy and pushed on to Cut Bank. I'll take a rest day tomorrow. The ride was entirely on rte 2 and was pretty good. Nice shoulder and nice scenery, especially up over the Continental Divide at Marias Pass.

Once over and I was in E Glacier it seemed my energy, with the tailwind and downhill, I could get to Cut Bank. Somewhere around 80 miles, I began to fade, but a little nourishment, and knowing there was no alternative got me here. The change from West to East over the pass is pretty stark. Especially after you pass E Glacier. It is now the Great Wide Open!

On the West side of the pass I had mountains on one side and a river or stream on the other... Quite pleasant.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Going up to Marias Pass.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
On top of the pass.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Great Wide Open.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I can see for miles and miles.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Probably saw about half a dozen of these on the East side of the pass.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bill Shaneyfelt identified this as Beargrass. Thanks Bill!
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltBeargrass

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/59524/browse_photos?place_id=16
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Today's ride: 100 miles (161 km)
Total: 950 miles (1,529 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0