I didn't love the thunder - Two of Us... - CycleBlaze

July 8, 2024

I didn't love the thunder

Bob's to Glidden

Daily mes 67.3

Cumulative miles 2,555

First, about Bob my warmshowers host of last night. A terrific host and a relaxing evening. Wonderful home and good mechanic. That kind of sounds it up. Stay with him of you can.

Today, my short day was Glidden and goal was Mercer ( another 37 miles on). Well I got to Glidden and the skies opened up with all sorts of thunder.I kind of took it as a sign to stay in town. I'm at the local motel for $58.00. seemed liked a good deal, and it is. 

Bob and his boat.
Heart 2 Comment 0
It seemed like I was always going up today, and I was.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An old bank.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More sand hill cranes... This time with two young ones.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Supposedly the largest stuffed black bear.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bob's house.
Heart 0 Comment 0

So tomorrow, or the next day I need to decide if I take the ferry off do the UP. The mileage difference is about 234 miles, not much. But the ferry would be different. Doing the UP would give me the opportunity to do part of the site line of Lake Michigan and maybe some of the shore line of Lake Huron. 

A little about Glidden. Current position just over 200, 20 years ago about 900. Apparently this is well known for black bears. Also one time had a mill, something to do with wood. Mill now is closed. The town boasts a general store ( mostly hunting, fishing and tourist stuff) a convenience store, FOUR restaurants ( only one opened when I was there), and a bank. The town does look a bit run down but two locals I meet had just recently took over our started businesses there. So some optimism there. Certainly a nice enough town with pavilions , parks and a small river that runs through it. 

Today's ride: 67 miles (108 km)
Total: 2,447 miles (3,938 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Barbara WalterWhen I traveled to Vermont (via pick-up) in 1995, I traveled through the U.P. and thought, "I can't wait to come back here." I've never been back, but it was beautiful, as experienced in late August in a vehicle.

In separate news, I hiked about 17 miles today and thought, "Running was so much more efficient" and also, "I'm glad I'm not on a bicycle."

Thanks to you and Tina for this travelogue! I'll go back and catch up on entries, and I'll be nudging RC staff to check in. I love what you're doing with the photos & entries.

Oh - since you missed the World's Largest Bale of Hay Wound By a Single Person in Darwin, MN, you might consider seeing the World's Largest Pitchfork in Casey, IL. Unlike the World's Largest Filing Cabinet in Burlington, the Pitchfork does not disappoint.

take good care, and thank you for sharing Bob with us!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago