Didn't See That Coming - Two of Us... - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2024

Didn't See That Coming

Hazelton to Enderlin

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Avg Speed 12.1

Daily miles 137.51

Cumulative 1,822

Originally, the plan was to stay on Gackle, about 63 miles. Then getting to Gackle my concern was the up coming weather. Strong head wind for tomorrow and thunder and lightening the day after. If I could get to Enderlin, it would mean Fargo would be less then 60 miles from there. I might be able to finagle those 60 between wind and rain. Cara, the intrepid flat tire woman, seemed to get her tire issues resolved (hurray!). She was on her way to Enderlin as well and said the road was good, flattening out a bit (yeah, what a surprise all these rolling hills, who knew?). So, after confirming a motel room I went into Enderlin. It worked out okay, well, my butt is getting sore after 10 + hours in the saddle. The road was good, there was a something of a tailwind for about 40 miles but of course, I ended the last dozen miles with a headwind. Anyway, the cloud cover, for most of the day helped. The ride to Gackle though was HARD. All on account of the wind. Especially when the route went north. Fortunately, that was only about 10 miles on the trip to Gackle.

The current plan is for a zero ( rest) day tomorrow and then get into Fargo Monday before the lightening starts up. Plans... we'll see if they work. Part of the whole experience. 

Incase you forgot, ND has some serious farming going on.
Heart 0 Comment 0
See what I mean?
Heart 0 Comment 0
This Continental Divide, is the Laurentian, dividing the water from the Gulf of Mexico and Hudson Bay/Labrador Sea.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Enderlin
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mostly, I don't eat much for lunch, but when I do this is typical fare. I sometimes eat a second breakfast or get a wrap.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gackle, it seemed a bit down on its heels, but that was only a cursory visit.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pelicans flying away. Hard for me to wrap my head around the ideas that pelicans are in this area!
Heart 0 Comment 0
More of Gackle.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 137 miles (220 km)
Total: 1,816 miles (2,923 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0