At the start of the a mighty Mississippi - Two of Us... - CycleBlaze

July 2, 2024

At the start of the a mighty Mississippi

Fargo/Moorhead to Lake itasca

Avg speed 12.9

Daily miles 114.5

cumulative miles 2000

We'll that's interesting!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

How does that work...I have to climb to the origin of the Mississippi but all waters from East Rockies flow into it? ?? 

Somewhere around 50 miles in, there were trees! Lots of them! There are still some huge fields but they are getting ever more sparse. Nice change of pace. 

Originally, the plan was to stop around 75. That came at about 1. Even though I'd be at a lake it seemed so much more appealing to spend the night with the Mississippi. So I am.  Once in the state park, I was immediately directed to a bike trail. So nice. A wonderful way to end the ride.  Though not right on the lake, if I squint, real hard, I can see it. I am so excited to be here. The excitement is at least two fold... Being in a different landscape, two, being at the lake... But it's starting to rain!

You're thinking, I thought we were fine with ND. If you look close at the wind turbines, you can see them tilting left, indication MN.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wild orchards my warm showers host alerted me to be on the look out for.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The bike trail at Lake Itasca.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Okay a bit of a false start. Thankfully.

The famous ..
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lake Itsca.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Though a bit tight, the start park camping is ok. Lots of trees make a difference and they had excellent warm water for a long, very needed, shower. 

Today's ride: 114 miles (183 km)
Total: 1,994 miles (3,209 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0