Another shorty - Two of Us... - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2024

Another shorty

Medora to Dickinson

Leaving Medora and the badlands.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The pumps in MT weren't quite this big, and they were more numerous, but mostly idle.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The look of things to come.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And again,
Heart 0 Comment 0
And again,
Heart 0 Comment 0
And again.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A first for this trip!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Avg speed 9.2 (oooh, that headwind)

Today's mileage 37.2

Cumulative miles 1,537

Heart 0 Comment 0

Very happy I ended in Medora yesterday. The headwinds today were not fun. AND we left the badlands at exit 32 at I 94. It's doubtful there was 60 + miles in me today with this headwind. Tomorrow though should be a nice tail wind. Looks like I'll get some good mileage tomorrow due to it, then a medium day,  then some low mileage (all due to how the wind is). That's the way the wind blows. 

Interestingly, my right elbow and left inner elbow seemed to be sunburned a bit. Riding East, the sun is mostly on my right, so lesson learned... Extra sunblock in those places. And I'm wearing a long sleeve shirt, with apparently very limited SPF protection.

So, I found MT very fun. Yes some was just straight plains. However all those mountains to East Glacier and them scads of badlands. I sense, ND may lose some appeal now that the badlands are done. 

After ND, a decision has to be made as to whether I take a ferry over Lake Michigan or go up to Sault Ste. Marie. Trying to figure it with ACA maps is a challenge. Currently, I'm leaning towards doing the UP. We'll see how Minnesota goes before a decision is made. 

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 1,532 miles (2,466 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0