Postponed again! - Volcans et Vallées - CycleBlaze

August 20, 2024

Postponed again!

Yes, I'm putting this off for another year, for various reasons:

  • All my cycling buddies who expressed interest have declined to follow through, so postponing affects only me.  I don't mind touring solo, but there are other reasons.
  • Our granddaughter is on about 15 waitlists for daycare to start in September, but the only spot she got doesn't start until January.  Our daughter-in-law is a teacher and her maternity leave is up so she needs to go back to work in September.  Luckily, all four grandparents are local and we have agreed to look after Ryder until school finishes in December or an earlier suitable daycare space is offered.  I just didn't feel right about ducking out with a promise of contributing more later.  Instead, Al and I will do more in September and October and duck out for November.
  • It's pretty nice in BC in September and October, but November is almost always awful.  I wasn't looking forward to coming home to the darkest, dreariest part of the year.
We were so excited to give Ryder her first birthday gift!
Heart 7 Comment 4
Suzanne GibsonWonderful picture! Ryder is adorable and what an appropriate name! Lina needs a strider, too!
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Suzanne GibsonShe’s a cutie! I had nothing to do with the choice of name, though. They wanted something meaningful but gender-neutral.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Mark BinghamIs that.... Ryder astride a Stryder? (sorry, I'm constitutionally unable to avoid bad dad jokes)
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Mark BinghamHow come I never noticed that? I, who have only ever named one bike in my life, because I didn't want to refer to my Naked bike. She's Maple, thanks to her painted fork.

We will look to a different brand when Ryder gets older.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago

Something I noticed, though, when searching for flights for this and our more recent trip, is how volatile airfares can be.  I tracked a few options on Google Flights:

Screenshot from today, Tuesday August 20. It really matters just when you decide to click "buy now"!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Instead, Al and I will be off to Portugal for November!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0