Day 60 - Lowell to Hastings - Two Far 2024 - Courthouse Tour - CycleBlaze

July 2, 2024

Day 60 - Lowell to Hastings

Heart 0 Comment 0
A little over 5 miles into the ride I encountered my favorite sign at a turn. As usual I decided to give it a try.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Not far down the road I saw this and it looked serious.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not being Evil Knievel, I thought I might have to admit defeat and turn around.
Heart 1 Comment 0
However, as I looked around, I spotted these ramps about 100 yards off to the right of the road. I had to straddle the ramps and the tires kept dropping into the gaps, but I made it to the other side. SUCCESS!!
Heart 3 Comment 0
The 5 miles or so I spent in MI-50 was the most unpleasant part of the ride. Two semis in particular were too close for comfort.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Typical view for the day - farms, hills and woods.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Barry County Courthouse.
Heart 3 Comment 0
View from the rear.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Completed in 1894, the courthouse doesn't retain much of its original character. The hallways are carpeted and some of the original stairs have been replaced with industrial looking steel stairs.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
View of the 3rd floor. I believe the area between the arches was open between the 2nd floor and the ceiling. A walkway now spans the area and leads to the elevator.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The brick wall is about a foot from the walkway and goes down to the 2nd floor and the clock movement has been removed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The civil courts building was completed in 1994 and is across the street from the rear of the main courthouse.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This building was across the street from the side of the courthouse, but I could not find any info about it.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 1,517 miles (2,441 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0