Day 57 - Greenville to Carson City - Two Far 2024 - Courthouse Tour - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2024

Day 57 - Greenville to Carson City

Heart 0 Comment 0

We requested a late checkout this morning for 3 reasons: 1) I wanted to wait until the rain stopped, 2) I wanted it to warm up some and 3) we could not check-in at our B&B in Carson City until 4PM.  When I did get on the road it was still cool and very overcast, but I did stay dry.  However, for the first few miles I was on and off hardpack and it had not quite dried out, so I did have to dodge a few small puddles.  After a couple hours the skies cleared, and everything was grand.

Because the straight-line distance between Greenville and Carson City is so short, I took a round-about route to get there.  This meant that I retraced a portion of yesterday's route, but it kept me in the country and off of a busy state highway, which was nice.  

I passed by this pond yesterday but did not get a photo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Right across the street from the above pond was this large gaggle of Canada Geese
Heart 0 Comment 0
Soon after leaving the hardpack, I came upon this stretch of new asphalt. It was so much smoother and quieter.
Heart 1 Comment 0
At about 5 miles into the ride, I was back in orchard country.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The trees were full of apples.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Crossing the Flat River on the Fred Meijer Flat River Trail just past Belding
Heart 0 Comment 0
A nice 1930 Model A (I think) for sale on Orleans
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is some of the tallest corn I've seen so far
Heart 1 Comment 0
The beans are bushing out as well.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I reached our B&B around 4PM. We're in an attic room on the 3rd floor that has a very tight spiral staircase going from the 2nd floor to the 3rd. It was so tight and steep that Jeanna could not handle the luggage, so for the 1st time this trip I had to carry the luggage into the room - Life is getting tough!

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 1,432 miles (2,305 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0