Day 56 - Muskegon to Greenville - Two Far 2024 - Courthouse Tour - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2024

Day 56 - Muskegon to Greenville

Heart 0 Comment 0

It was a very good ride today that had a wide variety of scenery.  I saw large berry farms, orchards, grain farms and woods, marshes and ponds.

 Shortly after leaving Muskegon, I picked up the Musketawa Trail.  This is the best rail-trail I've ridden in Michigan this year.  The asphalt was in good condition, there weren't too many road crossings, and there was a profusion of wildflowers.  I also largely had the trail to myself - I only saw one couple walking and another couple cycling in the 15 miles I was on the trail 

Musketawa Trail
Heart 3 Comment 0

The trail is lined with wildflowers and flowering shrubs.  Below is a sampling of the shrubs along with a closeup of its flower.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

The trail has a very nice trailhead on the edge of Ravenna.  At the trailhead, I left the trail to meet Jeanna in town and then rejoined it on the other side of town.  I was rather surprised that the trail didn't actually go through the town as old rail lines usually do.  Perhaps it was the topography, but I don't know. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The 124-year-old caboose was in excellent condition.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Directly across from the trailhead was this large, and busy, grain operation. I wonder if it was in business when the railroad was in operation.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Upon leaving the trail, I had this brand-new pavement. It was silky smooth
Heart 1 Comment 0
The area between Ravenna and Sparta was filled with large orchards.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This attractive yard caught my eye...
Heart 1 Comment 0
but my photos don't do it justice.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Past Sparta, the land transitioned from orchards to grain farms.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Old barn of the day
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sandhill cranes in a soybean field
Heart 2 Comment 0
As I neared Greenville, the land transitioned from farms to woodlands, filled with marshes and ponds.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 1,393 miles (2,242 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0