Day 54 - White Cloud to Muskegon - Two Far 2024 - Courthouse Tour - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2024

Day 54 - White Cloud to Muskegon

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today was a big routing "OOPS".  While I was creating the route last night, I noticed that I would be on state roads, but since they we depicted in white instead of yellow, I thought they would be relatively low volume.  I was seriously wrong!  The entire ride was on busy roads so my attention was on the traffic, not on sightseeing. 

Busy roads today.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Two nights ago, a large storm hit this part of Michigan, knocking out power over a large area. Yesterday, Penny (the woman who told me I could get through the road closure) was without power and today, in North Muskegon, I went through an area that still hadn't had the power restored.

I was able to get this photo because traffic was at a standstill (including me) due to the power outage. All traffic lights were out and all the business were dark. A short distance down the road, I picked up a shoulder and was able to get past the traffic jam.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Jeanna & I had made plans to meet at a Wendy's for lunch in North Muskegon. There was a large shopping center behind Wendy's and they were using the parking lot as a staging area for the power companies. We watched a steady stream of crews come and go while we were eating lunch.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Entering Muskegon, I picked up a local trail for a short distance.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ironies of ironies: After being on busy 2-lane roads for the entire day, and right after leaving the above trail, I ended up on a section of 8-lane highway that had no traffic.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Muskegon County Courthouse, officially known as the Michael E. Kobza Hall of Justice.
Heart 3 Comment 0

We'll be taking a day off tomorrow and then we will head back inland to attend a wedding in Carson City.  I'm going to take a hard look at my route, so I don't have a repeat of today!!

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 1,340 miles (2,157 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0