Day 53 - Hart to White Cloud - Two Far 2024 - Courthouse Tour - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2024

Day 53 - Hart to White Cloud

Heart 1 Comment 0

There's not really much to report today.  About half of the ride was on quiet country roads with uninspiring scenery, and the other half was on a fairly busy 2-lane state highway.  Having said that, I really did enjoy the ride, but I do wish there had been some more interesting things to see.

A sheep farm just outside of Hart.
Heart 0 Comment 0
These two fellas were at the opposite side of the pasture all by themselves
Heart 1 Comment 1
Kelly IniguezJacinto says I'm the only person he knows who uses the word 'fella' - now he knows two people who use that word!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

About 8 miles into the ride, I came upon another dreaded "Road Closed" sign.  The closure was at an intersection and there were no detour signs. There was a house off to the right, but no one answered the door. While I was pondering what to do, a pick-up came up the closed road, so I decided to give it a try.  Just a short distance down the road, I saw a house with its garage door up, so I went up and knocked on the door.   Penny and her granddaughter answered and told me I could get through.  She said the county had recently torn up the asphalt but did not plan to repave until later in the fall.  I was glad that I did not have to detour, but because it had rained last night, I did have to dodge a few puddles.  After about five miles, I finally hit pavement again.  I did pass several cars along this stretch, so I guess you could say it was an optional closure.  In fact, other than a few puddles, the hardpack was in much better shape than other dirt roads I've been on recently, so I don't know why the closed the road at all.

Left, Right and Straight ahead were all dirt.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Penny & Lila. Thanks Penny!!
Heart 2 Comment 0
No idea why they closed the road. There was no construction activity, and it was wider and smoother than the other dirt roads I've been on
Heart 2 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezWhat tires are you running, to ride dirt? I've passed up the several dirt roads Jacinto has taken. It doesn't seem the best choice with these 32's. Jacinto said for sure that was the best choice today - the road was more rocks than dirt.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Kelly IniguezOn my Phoenix I'm running Schwalbe Marathon Mondial's 37-622 (ISO) or 700x35 (metric) depending on the sizing standard you prefer.
On the Seavo I'm running the same tire but in 44-622 / 700x42's.

Neither size is FOR dirt, I HATE DIRT. Over the years, however, I have gone from 700x32 to the above sizes because, when touring, sometimes dirt is unavoidable.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Headed east on MI-20. This shoulder only lasted for about half the distance from Hesperia to White Cloud, but I sure did enjoy it while it lasted.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Newaygo County Courthouse. Although court was not in session, and no one was in the courtroom, the security officer said that photos of the courtroom were not allowed without the judge's permission. You just never know what the rules are going to be when you visit a courthouse!
Heart 3 Comment 1

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 1,298 miles (2,089 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0