Day 52 - Baldwin to Hart - Two Far 2024 - Courthouse Tour - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2024

Day 52 - Baldwin to Hart

The map shows that I rode through Lilley, Troy, and Colfax, but I'm not sure they exist, because I sure didn't notice them. The stretch between Lilley and Walkersville was through the Manistee National Forest and was fairly remote.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Outfitter near Pere Marquette River just south of Baldwin. The Pere Marquette is designated as a "Blue Ribbon" trout river
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bitely Community Church
Heart 2 Comment 0
Riding through the Manistee National Forest
Heart 2 Comment 0
Over half of today's ride was in the Manistee Nat'l Forest and looked like this - lots of trees, very few cars
Heart 0 Comment 0
Quiet road, blue sky, great temperature - PERFECT!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The start of a great coast!
Heart 1 Comment 0

After I left the Manistee Nat'l Forest I was back in farm country.  

A view of the Jack Pines Feed Mill and hog operation
Heart 1 Comment 0
The brown structure is a waste holding tank. Luckily, I was upwind :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Near Walkersville there was an abundance of wildflowers, which have been somewhat scarce on this trip.

Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltSweet peas

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sweet_pea
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltOrange day lilies

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hemerocallis_fulva
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
I couldn't decide what this was, so I stopped and asked. It is a newly planted (last year) cherry orchard being grown using the espalier method. 80,000 trees were planted.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A mature espalier orchard.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Squash or pumpkins?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Barn of the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An orchard full of ripe cherries.
Heart 2 Comment 0

When I reached Hart, I looked for the courthouse to take a photo but didn't find it.  I knew the courthouse was on my route, so when I reached the edge of town, I backtracked to find it.  I soon discovered that I had ridden right past it, but just didn't recognize it as such.

Oceana County Building. There was no signage on the grounds or building stating that this was the courthouse - I had to ask someone exiting the building to be sure.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 1,252 miles (2,015 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0