Day 48 - Roscommon to Lake City - Two Far 2024 - Courthouse Tour - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2024

Day 48 - Roscommon to Lake City

Heart 1 Comment 0

It was another "What a difference a day makes" type day.  Yesterday I fried, this morning I almost turned back to get my long-sleeved shirt.  It was also a tale of 2 rides: before lunch and after lunch.  The morning's portion of the ride had good low-volume roads with decent shoulders, was basically flat, heavily wooded and dry. 

I met Jeanna at Houghton Lake for lunch and then picked up MI-55 which I would take clear to Lake City, our day's destination.  MI-55 is a very busy 2-lane road with lots of trucks.  It also doesn't have much of a shoulder.  Throw in a light rain for much of this segment, and this portion wasn't very pleasant.  However, I made it without any incidents, so it's a case of "every ride is a good ride".

Marl Lake is a small lake situated between the much larger Higgins and Houghton Lakes.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Tree art in a community on Houghton Lake.
Heart 1 Comment 0
3 miles outside of Houghton Lake, I entered Missaukee County and the shoulder changed dramatically for the better. I thought "Hot damn, I've got it made now!"
Heart 1 Comment 0
However, in less than 2 miles, the shoulder reverted back to this, and I thought "S**t". Just a mile or 2 on down the road it began to rain, and that became (Aw S**t!!)
Heart 1 Comment 0

Just outside Lake City, the rain stopped, so I went by our 35th courthouse of the trip to get a photo.  Without a doubt, it is the plainest courthouse of the trip so far.   I went in the building but court was in session so I couldn't get a photo.  However, the hallways were as plain as the exterior, so I don't think I missed much.

Missaukee County Courthouse.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Located next to the courthouse.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Veteran's Memorial Park, near the courthouse.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We're staying in a motel right on Lake Missaukee. It's a small locally owned motel that's nicely landscaped.

A pretty hanging basket, just outside our door.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Closeup
Heart 0 Comment 0
We're on the ground floor tonight, so we have a nice sitting area.
Heart 1 Comment 0
And a great view of the lake
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking across the lake
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hanging baskets of Petunias line the street in downtown Lake City.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We had dinner a few blocks from our motel. On the way back to our room, we heard music and discovered that they were having a free outdoor concert
Heart 2 Comment 0
We just happened to catch the first concert of the season.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 1,158 miles (1,864 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0