Day 47 - Gladwin to Roscommon - Two Far 2024 - Courthouse Tour - CycleBlaze

June 19, 2024

Day 47 - Gladwin to Roscommon

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride was relatively long and hilly, and definitely hot.  However, I had great roads, which made for a nice ride.  I also had a quartering tailwind for most of the way, which made it even better.  I didn't realize how much the wind was helping until I left Roscommon and had a headwind for the last 5 miles. (If I'd had that headwind all day with the hills and the heat, I may have had to call Jeanna for a bailout.) 

Shortly after leaving Gladwin, the farms disappeared, and I was riding through the Michigan woods which limited my views of the countryside (but provided much appreciated shade) so there aren't a lot of photos.

When I first got on this road just outside Gladwin, I thought it was a relatively rare stretch of smooth Michigan road, but to my pleasant surprise, I had roads like this all day long.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Even though I could have passed this mower, I chose to stay behind for a while because the grass smelled so good.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I did have a mile of unpaved road today. I knew about when I planned the route but could not find a way to avoid it. As fate would have it, I got 3 of the best photos of the day on this stretch.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There are 3 horses and a colt here, but they would not separate so I could get a shot of the colt.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This barn was unusual because it was mostly corrugated metal instead of wood
Heart 3 Comment 0
A more traditional old barn.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Deep in the MIchigan woods.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I picked up M-18 about 13 miles into the ride and stayed on it clear to Roscommon. Although somewhat busy, it had a decent shoulder the entire distance, which made for comfortable riding.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I saw this Deuce & 1/2 backing across the highway and had to stop and check it out. Tom, the owner, said it's all original and runs great.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Another Michigan courthouse that doesn't look much like a courthouse. If fact, I had to stop at the adjacent sheriff's office to verify that it was the courthouse.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 1,120 miles (1,802 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0