Day 37 - Bryan, OH to Angola, IN - Two Far 2024 - Courthouse Tour - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2024

Day 37 - Bryan, OH to Angola, IN

Heart 0 Comment 0

It was a pleasant, but somewhat cool and windy ride today.  Our motel didn't serve breakfast, nor did it have an ice machine, so my first stop was less than half a mile into the ride at a McDonald's to grab a biscuit and fill my water bottles with ice water. Back on the road, traffic was very light going through Bryan and soon I was out in the country, watching miles of farm fields pass by.

I didn't stop to pet these horses because of the fence. :-)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Barn of the day
Heart 0 Comment 0
Near the St. Joseph River, I passed this field that was filled with these posts. At first, I thought it was a vineyard, but there was no wire strung between the posts so I have no idea what it is. Anybody out there have an idea?
Heart 0 Comment 0
The sign made me smile, but I don't know if it lasted for a half-mile.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Catholic Church in Blakeslee
Heart 2 Comment 0
Great Ohio country road
Heart 2 Comment 0
Back into Indiana for a day. I couldn't ride on the shoulder because of the rumble strip, but I didn't need to, because traffic was almost nonexistent.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Just past the state line I encountered the dreaded "Road Closed" sign
Heart 0 Comment 0
More warning signs were posted beyond the barricade.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I could see that the bridge was not out, so there was hope.
Heart 1 Comment 0
One more barricade, right at the bridge. The gap on the left was wide enough to get the bike through.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I couldn't tell why the bridge was closed - there was no equipment in sight, nor any sign of activity. The barricade on the far side did not have a gap to get the bike through.
Heart 0 Comment 0
So I had to create one.
Heart 3 Comment 0
But I did put everything back in order. Road Closed - NO PROBLEM!!
Heart 2 Comment 1
A nice house with a huge lawn.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I took a detour to see Hamilton Lake. It is a popular recreational lake and was very busy on this Sunday afternoon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I've seen many red barns, but none that were this shiny.
Heart 2 Comment 0

As this entry's title states, we're spending the night in Angola. We also spent the night here on last year's trip, so everything looked familiar when I got into town.  Jeanna got to the town square before I did, so these are her photos. There are more photos of the square in last year's journal: 

Day 049 - Angola, IN to Marshall, MI

Steuben County Courthouse
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The county's namesake.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A statue of Sojourner Truth is also on the courthouse grounds
Heart 0 Comment 0
There is a small city park in the middle of the traffic circle
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another town square, another movie theater.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Kelly IniguezI was curious to see if this was related somehow to Tom Brokaw. No. The original owner was Jim Brokaw.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

We had a good lunch at a Mexican restaurant in town and then it was back to the motel to enjoy their fast internet service.  

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 781 miles (1,257 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0