Day 32 - Portland to Bluffton - Two Far 2024 - Courthouse Tour - CycleBlaze

June 4, 2024

Day 32 - Portland to Bluffton

Heart 0 Comment 0

Weather-wise the day was great.  Road-wise not so much.  I started the day knowing I had about a 15 mile stretch on US27. US27 is a moderately busy 2-lane road, but I had spot checked it using Google's Satellite view and it did not look too bad.  Unfortunately, I spot checked in the wrong spots.  The first five miles we OK as I had a moderate shoulder, but then the traffic engineers decided to ruin a perfectly decent shoulder, and the last 10 miles looked like the photo below.

How to ruin a decent shoulder.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mural promoting the community of Antiville.
Heart 1 Comment 0

At this point I should mention that it was also not a great day for my bike, as 2 things got broken.  The first incident happened in our motel room.  Space was cramped, and as I tried t0 get past the bike, I bumped my knee into the front tire hard enough to break the receiver cup of my Steer-Stopper, which locks the front fork in place. I heard it pop and then I heard the piece hit the wall clear across the room, narrowly missing Jeanna.  Hopefully some Super Glue will fix it.

The second incident happened when I had to duck onto those dreaded rumble strips a few times when trucks were passing me.   I noticed a loud rattle when I was back on smooth pavement, so I pulled off into a parking lot where I discovered that the violent vibrations broke one of the support stays of my front rack.  I was able to reposition one of the mounting brackets over the break to hold things in place.  Time will tell if this fix holds up. If not, I'll just take the rack off and stow it in the car (that's one big advantage of having a supported ride :-)  )

While I was repairing my front rack, I met Robert who was interested in both the bike and the trip. It was nice to meet you Robert!
Heart 0 Comment 0

The day got much better when we stopped in Berne to visit the Swiss Heritage Village & Museum.  The following are photos from the self-guided tour of the museum.

Heart 0 Comment 0
A Dunbar buggy
Heart 0 Comment 0
And this is and example of some Dunbar furniture which was designed by Edward Wormley, a noted furniture designer.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once we were done touring the museum, we took a guided tour of the "Village".  Our tour guide was Penny, and she gave an excellent tour.  We learned much more than if we had toured the grounds on our own.  For those interested, here is a link to all the buildings on the grounds. Swiss Heritage Village & Museum

Here are photos from the Luginbill House.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Curt & Helene ReedThese last 3 pictures remind me of my grandparents furniture at the farm
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
According to Penny, this is the log cabin that the Luginbill's originally lived in when they first came to the area from Switzerland.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The community brought cheesemakers from Switzerland.  They had to be single, as there was no family housing for them.  When a cheesemaker married, a new one was brought over.

This kettle and firepit was where the cheesemaker warmed the milk to begin the cheesemaking process.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cream separator
Heart 0 Comment 0
The barn had louvers instead of windows.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A working sawmill was on the grounds. They periodically have demonstrations, but none were being held today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Diesel powered and belt driven.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The cider mill is undergoing renovation. Penny told us that the beam overhead weighs 4,000 lbs. and is lowered to crush the apples. The press is reportedly the largest of its type in the world.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Medicine cabinet in the doctor's office. The doctor, Peter A. Sprunger, was self-taught and very popular in the community of Berne.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Jeanna and Penny, our tour guide. Thank you, Penny, for a great tour.
Heart 2 Comment 0
After leaning Berne, I turned of US27 and got back onto some wonderful country roads. Wonderful, that is until I hit this 3-mile stretch of gravel. A LWB recumbent gets real squirrely on gravel :-)
Heart 1 Comment 0
I had to stop and pet the horses...
Heart 1 Comment 0
Notice the insulators on the fence posts? I didn't and scared both the horses and me when I leaned over the top wire!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Long abandoned RR trestle
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Wells County Courthouse in Bluffton.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The interior is not quite as fancy as others I've recently been in.
Heart 1 Comment 0
However, I did get get to meet my first sitting judge. The Hon. Kenton Kiracofe noticed me peeking in his courtroom and welcomed me in. Thanks, Your Honor!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Mural across from the courthouse.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 658 miles (1,059 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0