Day 30 - Richmond, IN to Greenville, OH - Two Far 2024 - Courthouse Tour - CycleBlaze

June 2, 2024

Day 30 - Richmond, IN to Greenville, OH

Heart 0 Comment 0

It wasn't a dark and stormy night, but it was an overcast and damp day.  It rained most of the night last night and into the morning.  I waited until 10 AM to start out, but the roads were still very wet.  Thankfully there was very little traffic, so I didn't get much road spray.  After an hour or so the roads had dried out, but it remained cool and overcast all day.

I spent a lot of time on roads like this today.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Rose SamsonKerry, cycling on a quiet, clear nice day, no traffic, is a good break from Up Hills and headwinds! You deserve it. Not pedaling hard at all.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

My first stop was in the small town of New Madison.  We couldn't find any restaurants along the route that were open today, Sunday, so we stopped at the New Madison Supermarket, procured some deli fixings, and had lunch sitting in the car.  It wasn't bad, just part of life on the road :-)

A Pioneer seed operation.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The next town I rode through was Arcanum.   It was a nice-looking town that still had brick streets in the business district.

Arcanum had several attractive houses near the center of town.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Downtown Arcanum
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I picked up the pace somewhat after leaving Arcanum because the weather looked threatening, so I didn't take any photos until I reached Greenville.

Greenville's Carnegie Library
Heart 1 Comment 0
Darke County Courthouse in Greenville.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The county administrative office is next door to the courthouse.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Downtown Greenville
Heart 1 Comment 0
This downtown movie theater was first opened in 1921. It was closed for thirteen years, then renovated and reopened two years ago.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezThat’s a rarity, for theatres to reopen after closing. I wonder if they formed a non profit to run it?
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Kelly IniguezI don't know. I spoke with a woman there whom I took to be the owner. When I asked how things were going she said "Not very well" I guess movie theaters as an industry are not a thriving business anymore.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

After leaving downtown Greenville, I did get a few sprinkles, but reached our hotel by 3:30 without getting wet.  

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 578 miles (930 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0