Day 27 - Lawrenceburg to Brookville - Two Far 2024 - Courthouse Tour - CycleBlaze

May 30, 2024

Day 27 - Lawrenceburg to Brookville

Heart 1 Comment 0

It was a short, but hilly, ride today.   Just a few miles into the ride, I began to think that it wouldn't be a short ride after all, when I saw the dreaded "Road Closed Ahead" sign. Shortly after I passed the sign, I saw a line-crew working on some power lines and asked them if I could get through the closure.  They said "No" and said a bridge was out and then told me about the detour that I would need to take.  That didn't make me happy, but I continued on.  When I got to the closure the road was barricaded, but it was not a bridge and I could see to the other side.  I asked a worker if I could walk through and he said "yes", but to be careful.  Bikes rule again!!

Not a bridge, just a small landslide being repaired.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking back at the construction zone.
Heart 1 Comment 0

As happened yesterday, the closure meant that I had the road to myself for several miles, which made the ride very enjoyable.

First covered bridge of this year's trip.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A future "old barn" photo. The roof is already giving way.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
A private swinging bridge. It led to a house that is just out of view.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The following 3 photos were all taken at the same intersection.  There was a dilapidated building on 3 of the 4 corners.

Heart 0 Comment 0
I wonder what this stone shed was used for.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Rich FrasierThere's a little fixer-upper!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

I had a lot of uphill today, but I did have one great downhill.

The downhill was not quite as steep as the graph on my Garmin indicated.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

The courthouse has an interesting history.  Originally build in 1855, in 1877 a construction crew was repairing the leaky roof when it collapsed, dumping workers and material into the courtroom below where a trial was taking place.

Franklin County Courthouse. Only the center portion is the original building. The wings on each side were added in 1912.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Curt & Helene Reedoh no!
At a glance, I thought you had an American flag on your bike ,but realized it was in a flowerpot
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
The marble and brass staircase was very attractive.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerThat is beautiful
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
A view of the judge's bench in courtroom #1
Heart 1 Comment 0
Comfortable jury box
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not-so-comfortable gallery seating.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The courthouse had a nice, but small park next to it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Downtown Brookville
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Valley House is directly across from the courthouse. It was originally a hotel, but has recently been converted into upscale apartments for seniors.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Curt & Helene ReedWith a tavern on the first floor for seniors to have a drink and meet people
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Curt & Helene ReedThat would be a real necessity!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Brookville has a very modest police station.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Even though I didn't start out today until noon, I reached our motel by 3:30.  Shortly thereafter, we went back to town for a nice Mexican dinner and were ensconced back in our room by 7.  We spent the rest of the evening surfing the 'net and watching TV.  LIFE IS GOOD!!!

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 486 miles (782 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Keith A. SpanglerYou are the master at challenging road closures
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithNot mastery so much as perseverance. I just keep going forward!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago