Day 22 - We're Back!! - Two Far 2024 - Courthouse Tour - CycleBlaze

May 25, 2024

Day 22 - We're Back!!

Kerry here...

It's been a busy week.  As Jeanna mentioned in the previous post, we decided to end our tandem touring.  I'll pick things up from there.

Once we decided to end our tour, Jeanna called Enterprise and reserved a van for our drive back to Florida.  She specifically stated that we needed a Chrysler Pacifica van with the "Stow-n-Go" seating like the one we rented for the drive up to Ohio.  However, once we got to the Toledo airport, we discovered that the only Pacifica van available was a hybrid which does not have the Stow-n-Go seating (they need the room for the batteries).   The only viable option for us was a Toyota Tacoma pick-up that had a 4 1/2 ft bed.  News flash! - our tandem is over 9 feet long.  That meant that I got to spend an enjoyable half-hour breaking the Seavo down in the parking lot. (Luckily, I always pack the spanner wrench for the S&S Couplers).

By the time we got everything taken apart and loaded, it was after noon before we got underway.  We still managed to get 500 miles in, stopping for the night in Sweetwater, TN.  Our original plan was just to check into a motel when we got home the next night (we have the house shut down for the summer) and then load my Phoenix on the car and head back north the next day. 

However, our good friends, Curt & Helene, insisted that we stay with instead, so that's what we did.  We did spend the next day doing laundry, repacking things and visiting with some other friends.  Then it was back on the road.  

On the way back north, I decided that instead of going back to northern Ohio and picking up where we stopped, that I would start out at the Ohio River and ride up the Ohio-Indiana state line until I rejoined our original route.  Looking at a map, we settled on Jeffersonville, IN, right across the river from Louisville, as a good starting point. 

We got to our motel in Jeffersonville last night and I spent this morning prepping the bike and then we spent the afternoon walking around town seeing the sights.  Jeanna will tell you all about that on the next page. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Kelly IniguezPerhaps I shouldn't admit this, but I just had the red bike reassembled after our trip to Spain last summer. I picked it up this afternoon, and the shop had ziptied the coupler wrench to the chopper bars. If it wasn't for the visual right in my face, that would be good placement so I wouldn't use the wrench. Of course, this one is plain black and not painted to match - like some detailed oriented people I know request when their bikes are made!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Kelly Iniguezlose the wrench, not use. I don't see an edit button, only delete.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Kelly IniguezThat "no edit" is a pain... With my uncoordinated fingers, I often need to go back, copy, delete, get out (can't make another post without leaving the thread) and back in, then paste and edit the mistakes.

Edit would really be nice!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltI lived in "Jeff." for about 7 years, cycle commuting north to Charlestown before they closed the ammo plant and I moved here to Dayton.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Bill ShaneyfeltWe enjoyed the little downtown area. The waterfront development around the Big 4 Bridge looks new and thriving. It seems like a nice town.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill and Kelly,
I can't tell you how many times, in an effort to make a correction, I have used back space or delete and lost a lot of text and pictures.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithI just this moment realized that there is no "edit" for comments, as you both mentioned. I love Cycle Blaze, but an easier way to correct mistakes would be a welcome enhancement!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago