Day 109 - Colville to Republic - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

August 2, 2023

Day 109 - Colville to Republic

Heart 1 Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerRepublic looks like a nice town! Did you explore much?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

It was an easy, then TOUGH, then spooky-fast type of day.   I got an early start because I knew that I had a very long climb over Sherman Pass and the afternoon temps were going to be in the 90's.  

Starting out, I took the scenic route to Kettle Falls.  That turned out to be the most scenic and relaxing part of the day.  Once I turned off WA-20, I was on a very quiet country road surrounded by farms and ranches.  Most of the farms had their fields tilled and looked like they were ready for planting, but what, I do not know.  The ranches I saw seemed equally divided between horses and cattle.  All-in-all it was a very bucolic segment of the ride.

WA-20, just outside Colville. The day started out nice and flat, but that didn't last.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Barn photo of the day.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Fields ready for planting, or just planted. I couldn't determine which.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking to the north, the mountains looked mostly bare and dry.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After leaving Kettle Falls, I dropped down to the Columbia River / Lake Roosevelt where I passed a Boise Cascade plywood mill that had a very large log yard.  As I was riding by the log piles, I saw a log truck enter the yard.  In the time it took me to ride past the site, the truck was unloaded and back on its way - a very efficient operation indeed.   

Large sprinklers were keeping the logs wet.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This unloader picked up the entire truckload of logs in one fell swoop.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerThat's amazing....
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Headed off to add to the log piles.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back at the plywood mill after crossing the river and starting the climb to Sherman Pass. Notice the logs corralled in the river.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Once I crossed the river, I immediately started the ascent to Sherman Pass.  My first break occurred about 7 miles into the climb, at the Log Flume Interpretive Site.  Those 7 miles were the easiest part of the ascent, with the grades in the 3-5% range.  While at the site, I called Jeanna and discovered she was only a couple of miles away, so I waited for her and we took a short walk along the interpretive trail.  

Here is what we learned...

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

My 2nd break occurred four miles further into the climb at the Camp Growden CCC Camp Interpretive Site.  The grade in this section steepened and I was very happy to take time to read the info panels and give my legs a rest.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I did not walk down to the CCC cabin to see what that info pane said.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After leaving the CCC site, the grade steepened even more and was a constant 6-7% for the next 12+ miles.  The stops became more frequent, the nearer the summit I got.  Near the end I was stopping and sitting on a guardrail about every mile or so, and my legs were telling me if I ever did this again, they were getting a divorce from me.  We'll see what they think tomorrow :-)

My final stop on the climb was about a mile away from the summit, at the Sheman Pass Campground / Overlook. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Sherman Peak.
Heart 1 Comment 0
View from the Overlook.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sherman Pass Overlook.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sherman Pass Overlook.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I made it! From 1,350' to 5,575' in about 23 miles.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Rich FrasierThat's a mammoth climb! Kudos!!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith A. SpanglerCongrats! You are strong "Florida" man.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Once I crested the pass, I faced another problem.  From going about 3.5 MPH during the last several miles of the ascent, I now was trying to keep my speed under 30MPH during the 10-mile 6% descent.  Luckily, the traffic was light, and I encountered no log trucks coming up behind me, so I just planted myself in the middle of the lane. I had to pretty much ride the brakes all the way down while hoping they wouldn't overheat too much.  Near the end of the descent, I noticed that there was more travel in the brake handles, so I'm going to have to adjust the brakes in the morning before I start out.

Looking out (downhill) from the White Mountain Overlook. Damage from the 1988 White Mountain Complex fire is still evident.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking uphill from the same overlook. The 1988 fire consumed over 20,000 acres.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerThat is a DAY of CYCLING my friend.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Entering Republic, I had my last climb of the day - a 1.8 mile 3%'er which maxed out at 6% just as I reached downtown.  Passing the bank, their thermometer read 96 degrees, so I was really ready for the cold beer Jeanna handed me as I entered our motel room.  I was hot and tired, but it was a good day!

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 5,157 miles (8,299 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Ken GassOK, you've been tested by vertical feet and heat and next comes smoke from the Osoyoos and Sourdough fires... Here's hoping you'll have favorable winds.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago