Day 091 - Wolf Point to Glasgow - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

July 15, 2023

Day 091 - Wolf Point to Glasgow

Heart 1 Comment 0

I was planning to leave early (for me) this morning so I could get most of my ride in before the afternoon headwinds picked up.  However, when I took some things out to the car at 7:30 it was cold and damp.  That posed a dilemma.  Did I want a cold, but easier ride, or a warmer, but tougher ride?  

Call me a weather wimp, but I chose the latter and waited until around 9, allowing the temperature to climb into the upper 50's, to leave. 

The smoke was thicker and more noticeable today than it was yesterday. If it gets any worse, I may have to take some time off until it clears.  Besides the obvious health issues, the haze makes the ride much less interesting because visibility is so reduced, and the colors are so muted.  Because of the haze, I didn't take many photos during the ride.

Heart 0 Comment 0
A frontier cabin.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Nearby was a frontier house.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

In Glasgow, I visited the Valley County Frontier Museum.  This was a very well-done museum, but because of my late start and slow ride, I only had a half-hour to explore it before they closed.   If I ever get back to Glasgow, I'll be sure and visit this museum again. 

This photo is for Stan H. Does it look anything like your dad's?
Heart 0 Comment 0
And this one is for Kelly :-)
Heart 0 Comment 3
Kelly IniguezThey have the make up table and everything! After each reel of film was shown, it would have to be re wound before the next showing. My mother always said she had good arms from winding the film. Later, she got an motorized winder.

That projector is a carbon arc. Running one of those is a lost art form - you had to keep the carbon in the flame far enough to cast a bright picture, but not so far as to burn the film up! I never learned to run carbon arc. I learned on bulbs - which cost $1-2,000. each!

Yes, a trip down memory lane. Thank you.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Kelly IniguezI'm glad that Kerry found this to take you down memory lane. Did your family own a movie theater when you were growing up?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezYes, I grew up in the small town movie business. It's a dying breed, and mostly a labor of love for those still left.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

The Remembrance Room was an especially well-done exhibit.  

Heart 0 Comment 0
So many stories to tell... Each plaque had an inscription listing names, occupations, dates of birth and death and a "time capsule".
Heart 0 Comment 0
A close-up of one of the plaques. There were signs saying not to touch the plaques, so I couldn't open the time capsule to read their story.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This very large buffalo fish (62 lb.) caught my eye.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The craftsmanship and artistry of several of the exhibits were outstanding.  Here are a few samples...

A local machinist built this working scale model. It is 12 ft. long and weighs 1000 lbs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
These diamond willow canes were carved by local resident Ray Hendricks.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A close-up of one of the relief carvings. The surfaces were silky smooth with no chisel marks visible at all.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 4,314 miles (6,943 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0