Day 057 - Rogers City to Mackinaw City - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2023

Day 057 - Rogers City to Mackinaw City

Heart 1 Comment 0

My entire ride today was on US-23 alongside the shore of Lake Huron.  Once again, US-23 had a great shoulder and very little traffic.  I also had great views of the lake for most of the day. 

The only downside to today's ride was the weather.  I waited until 10AM to get started and even then the temperature was only 50 degrees. I started out with my winter weight jacket, knee-high wool socks (thanks John!), long pants and insulated winter gloves.  Even with all that I was somewhat cold, so I called Jeanna and told her to pull over when she caught up to me so I could get more clothes.  We met at a roadside park about 10 miles into the ride and I put a second pair of socks and my balaclava.  After that, I was reasonably warm, and I totally enjoyed the rest of the day.

This bike trail ran alongside US-23 and went from Rogers City to the Forty Mile Point Lighthouse.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The lighthouse and keepers house.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This building housed the fog horn.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The lighthouse grounds were very well kept.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

This series of display panels were also on the lighthouse grounds.

Heart 0 Comment 0
I couldn't get a photo without an unintended selfie.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The glass covering the display was very reflective!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The actual Wheelhouse of the SS Calcite was behind me and is reflected in the upper left corner of this photo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from a roadside overlook.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A sand bar jutting into the lake.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had about 7 miles to go when I first saw the Mackinac Bridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A better view of the bridge. Today was still hazy, and I could still smell a faint hint of smoke, but it's getting better.
Heart 1 Comment 0

We made a change of plans this morning.  There's about a 90% chance of rain tomorrow, so we rearranged the next few days of our schedule. We'll spend an extra day here in Mackinaw City and then see what Tuesday looks like. 

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 2,740 miles (4,410 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Kelly IniguezI presume you will go and see what the doings are about on Macinaw Island - be sure and buy some fudge. It's almost a requirement!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago