Change cycling plan, change bike, change blogger - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

August 10, 2023

Change cycling plan, change bike, change blogger

Kerry has finished his grand cross-country ride.  It was a great trip for both of us.  Now, we're going to make use of our tandem which I have hauled across the country on our Draftmaster rack.  I am relieved and happy to report that I had no mishaps with the bike or car.  There were two times when I encountered a low clearance trestle that required me to find an alternate route, but each of those was an easy detour, and I always remembered not to drive under a low clearance overhang or portico when pulling into the motels.

Several people have asked how I felt about driving SAG all that way.  I really enjoyed it most days.  After Kerry left for his ride, I could hang out in the hotel room until check-out time, then load up the car and follow his route.  Some days we met for lunch or at museums or some point of interest.  I would usually get to the new hotel about a couple of hours before Kerry.  Almost every lodging let me check in early.  I would unpack, make sure we had drinks and snacks, and enjoy some computer time until he arrived.  I also had plenty of good books on my phone as well, so I never got bored.  And, for those who have asked, yes, I would definitely do it again.

Our plan for the return trip to Florida is to mix driving and cycling.  Kerry did a great job with posting the blog daily. I'm taking over now and plan to post on cycling days or days we see something interesting enough to write about.  

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0