The U.P. is Like British Columbia - Me & The U.P. - CycleBlaze

June 21, 2024

The U.P. is Like British Columbia

Marquette

Blood Sucker and Slime Worm On Tent
Heart 2 Comment 2
Emily SharpYep, totally despicable duo. I do not touch icky slugs with my fingers either. I always use a stick to pry them off. I once camped among a festival of slugs and had DOZENS of them on the ground sheet in the morning. That time, I resorted to using the tweezers in my first aid kit to get all of them. (Hmmm... I don't remember if I sanitised the tweezers after that....).
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Emily SharpI will remember the prying with a stick technique next time. Thanks for the tip.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

That was my first vision upon waking this morning.  To me, mosquitoes are one of the most despicable animals on earth, and slugs are one of the most icky animals on earth.  Surely, the meeting of two such disgusting creatures was worth a photo.

I'm sorry I can't think of a better word for slugs than "icky," but I'm going to stay with it because that's what they are.  I became very aware of their ickiness while taking down my tent.  I found six of them on my ground sheet and on the underside of my tent.  The ickiest part is that you can't simply shake them off because they have some kind of sticky slime that glues them onto tents.  You have to actually TOUCH them.  The smaller ones can be flicked off with a finger, but the big ones require picking them off with two fingers. 

Slimy, sticky, gelatinous and . . . icky.
Heart 2 Comment 0

************

Less than three miles up the road, I heard a voice saying, "Good Morning."

"Good morning," I returned, as a cyclist equipped with a bikepacking set-up pulled alongside of me.

"Where are you from," he asked.

"Well, I live in the Twin Cities, but I started my bike trip in Ironwood."  He had a confused look, as if he didn't know what the Twin Cities was.  "Minneapolis-St. Paul," I clarified, though I still wasn't sure he'd ever heard of them.

"I'm from Paris, France," he announced.

"Wow, where are you riding?"

"I'm riding across Canada from Vancouver to Montreal."

I caught myself before blurting out, "you must have taken a wrong turn somewhere, because you aren't in Canada."  I remembered a lot of cross-Canada riders dip down to Minnesota, Wisconsin and the U.P. in order to avoid the treacherous part of the TransCanada Highway that runs along the north side of Lake Superior.  Instead, I said, "Welcome to America."

We rode side-by-side for about five minutes.  I told him about my less ambitious tour of the Upper Peninsula, and he said he really likes it here.  "It reminds me of British Columbia."

"Yeah, I can see what you mean, but with smaller mountains."

"The trees and the climate are similar."

The short dialogue I just wrote was paraphrased, of course.  I can't remember the exact words, and it excluded all of the times we said things like "pardon me." "What was that?" "I'm sorry, I didn't understand."  His French accent was as thick to me as my Minnesota accent was to him.

"Are you going to Marquette," he asked.

"Yes, I am."

"I will see you in Marquette then," he said as he raced ahead as quickly as he appeared.

 I have a bit of a hang-up when it comes to asking people to pose for a picture.  It seems intrusive.  It's a little easier if they ask for a picture of me first, but Paris guy didn't do that.  So I settled for a picture of him from behind.

Paris, France guy, leaving me in his dust.
Heart 2 Comment 4
Suzanne GibsonI have a hard time asking people if I can take their picture, too. There are almost none in my journals.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Suzanne GibsonMaybe we both have a little bit of a shy streak in us. Other journals are full of pictures of bike touring strangers.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Gregory GarceauI used to ask all of the cyclists for a photo, if we had a conversation of any length at all. Then I had a couple tell me no photo. I was taken aback. Conversation went from friendly to frosty and quickly ended. I spent miles after that speculating why they wouldn't want their photos taken - famous, witness protection program, etc.

I sometimes ask if I can photo their bike - that's always a yes. Then I add that they can be in the photo as long as they don't get in the way of the bike. That's usually good for a laugh and a photo.

If it's a short conversation, I don't usually ask. I do really enjoy looking at photos of loaded bikes.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Kelly IniguezYeah, I think the fear of rejection is part of the reason I don't usually ask for photos. That's a good trick--asking to take a picture of the bike and then "letting" the rider get in on the picture if they want.

Once, while crossing the Peace Bridge from Buffalo, NY to Canada, I met another couple coming from the other direction. While I was talking to the guy, I noticed the gal surreptitiously snapping a photo of me. I didn't mind, but I did think it was a little cheeky.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
This was a nice place to conduct one of the most important rituals of The Church of the Great Outdoors. While relieving my bladder, my focus was on a patch of bright green ferns.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another batch of that Pre-Cambrian stuff
Heart 4 Comment 1
George HallGeology - it's everywhere!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
This is one the many roadside stands selling firewood I've seen over the last 11 days. I've also seen similar stands selling honey, jellies, crafts, flowers, fresh eggs, and other things I can't recall right now. It was all sold on the honor system. I wonder if bears honor the honor system.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Emily SharpNever ever get in the way of a bear craving crafts - just give him/her the crocheted tissue box cover and don't worry about the payment.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
A couple decades ago this pasty shop was featured on NBC's Today Show. I didn't stop for a pasty today, but I plan to get one at their Marquette branch tomorrow.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I took this picture for the mountains ahead, not the traffic.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A giant manhandling a digging tool and a Lilliputian trying to push a huge wheelbarrow.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Emily SharpNice try, I think you would have needed over-developed deltoids, skinny forearms and amputated hands like the giant to have been successful.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Emily SharpI need to work on my body shape. Thanks for another excellent tip.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Sure, I fell for a tourist trap, but at least I got to add to my collection of World's Largest things.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This might be more Tourist Attraction than Tourist Trap. I didn't go inside because my winter sports preferences lean more toward snow shoveling and bike riding.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Emily SharpWow, the NATIONAL Ski Hall of Fame and Ski Museum is there.... I would never have guessed that in a multiple choice in Trivial Pursuit or a TV game show.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

The next three pictures were taken in the mining town of Negaunee.  It is to iron ore as Houghton is to copper.  I didn't ride into town to explore the famous mining history though, because I was trying to get to Marquette before the impending rain.

For the second time on this trip, nature intervened on my attempt to stay ahead of the rain.  I stopped to take a picture of Teal Lake.  I was happy with how I framed my picture just right.  Then I snapped the button on my phone camera.  Out of the corner of my eye, I saw something else coming into view.

Fortunately, I already had my camera out to get an additional photo of a seagull chasing a bald eagle across the lake.  Unfortunately, my phone isn't the best zoomerer-inner.  I quickly snapped two pictures.  I can't decide which one is clearer, so I'm going to post both.

A small part of Teal Lake
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Heart 5 Comment 0
I didn't buy an Iron Town Pasty. As much as I wish otherwise, my body couldn't handle a pasty from every pasty shop I see.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Emily SharpGluten friendly pastie? Sign me up!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

From Negaunee, it was a seven-mile downhill cruise to the Lake Superior port city of Marquette.  It started raining, but I made it to the Holiday Inn before I got totally soaked.

I'm really pumped up to show off the town I remember from my college days.  That, sad to say, will have to wait until tomorrow.

Heart 1 Comment 2
Emily SharpIf MN is the land of 10,000 lakes, do you know how many lakes the U.P. has? I constantly amazed at all of them in these maps.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauI'm guessing the two states have a similar number of lakes, but the U.P. doesn't feel the need to brag about it.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 330 miles (531 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0