Rainier Rain Stories Than Yesterday's - Me & The U.P. - CycleBlaze

June 17, 2024

Rainier Rain Stories Than Yesterday's

Houghton

Just outside of the state park campground there was a convenience store.  I stopped there to buy a snack.  At the same time, a pick-up truck arrived.  The woman who got out of the passenger side came up to me and asked, "where are you headed?"

"To Houghton," I replied.

"Oh, that's not too far," she said. 

"Yeah, I just hope I can get there before the rain."

She looked at my bike and added, "old school too."

I thought she was referring to my old, worn out handlebar bag or something.  "Old school?" I questioned.

"Yeah, no motor."

"Has it come to this," I wondered, "a world where pedal bikes are 'old school?'"

She continued, "You should be able to make it before the rain.  I rode there a couple weeks ago and it only took a little over two hours.  But I have an e-bike.  It has a motor . . . but you still have to pedal!"

"Yes . . . yes, I'm familiar with them," I replied.

************

From the convenience store, I started riding at a higher rate of speed than I normally do while on tour.  My instincts, which I trust more than weathermen, told me rain was imminent.  My instincts were informed by the dark clouds in the southern sky combined with some wind blowing from the south.  I believed if I really put my feet to the pedals, I could stay ahead of the rain.  

I was in a rush, but not too much of a rush that I couldn't stop for this picture.
Heart 8 Comment 2
Scott AndersonWonderful the way your bike blends in. Even the water bottle!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonI was wondering when somebody would notice that water bottle. The Feeshko made me buy a new one on our last visit to REI. She said the discoloration in my other ones was gross. Since I was being shamed, I figured I might as well get one that matched.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Along with the mountains and view-blockers, I noticed more small lakes and swampy bogs today.  There were a lot of frog sounds too.  It was quite pleasant.  I just wished the sun would come out.

There was another thing I noticed too.  Besides being gun enthusiasts, Upper Michigan drivers are some of the worst I've seen in regard to giving a bike rider a little space.  I'd estimate that less than 50% of them veered even an inch to the left, much less move into the other lane.  In the midwestern driver courtesy hierarchy, Iowans, Wisconsinites, and Minnesotans have a much better average than that.

I took this picture because I thought "Mosquito" was a funny name for a food & spirits place. Why not name it something a little less revolting, like "Stink bug," "Skunk," or "Blood Sucking Leech."
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

I took the last two pictures at the Finnish named town of Toivola.  I called The Feeshko from there because it was the first place I could find cell phone reception since I started riding.  I thought T-Mobile covered everywhere, but apparently not much of the rural part of the U.P.

************

I hate to make a big thing of the rain.  It's just one of those things we have to deal with, but I will say it seems to give me extra energy to pedal harder.  

About halfway to Houghton, I got some EXTRA-extra energy when I heard thunder behind me.  I pedaled harder.  I was glad that I had a hotel to go to in downtown Houghton.  Yup, I made another reservation.

Suddenly, the thunder caught up to me and it started to rain harder.  Then I saw lightning streak across the sky.  Oh boy, that gave me SUPER-EXTRA-extra energy to pedal at speeds I thought I could only attain when I was in my 30s.  Thank goodness I was on a downslope into the town of South Range, where I spotted a park with a picnic shelter.  

I like this picture, but it doesn't show how hard it was raining out there.
Heart 8 Comment 0

I knew the rain wasn't going to let up for another four hours, but I hadn't seen any lightning for a while, so I put on my waterproof gloves and continued my ride to Houghton.  It was fun.  Even the last couple of miles where I had to squeeze my brakes down the very steep hill down to Houghton was fun.  Then I discovered the steep hills were even steeper in the downtown area.

I was soaking wet when I checked into the Comfort Inn, so I was thankful they let me into a room at 1:00 p.m.   I must have looked so pathetic to the front desk clerk that she assigned me to a room with this pleasant view.  

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 25 miles (40 km)
Total: 210 miles (338 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Emily SharpSome rain here and there is to be expected, but I feel sad for you that you have to put up with it since you have lots of life responsibilities and don't get much time for touring. You deserve blue skies, tailwinds and perfect temps when your touring days are limited.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
marilyn swettI'd have to agree with you on Michigan drivers moving over for bikes. We're in Indianapolis now and I've noticed that the vast majority of bikes on the trails are regular pedal bikes. I mean, why would you need an e-bike here - it's totally flat riding!!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago