Rain Stories - Me & The U.P. - CycleBlaze

June 16, 2024

Rain Stories

Twin Lakes State Park

It rained last night, but the sky looked pretty good this morning.  I was happy for that because I had been seeing so many dismal weather reports for today and for the next three days.  I've ranted about the accuracy of those weather forecasters and their Doppler Radars in the past, so there really is no need to get into that again.  Besides, everybody who spends a lot of time outdoors--like bike tourists--already knows what I know.

On the way back to Ontonagon, I saw an opportunity to get a last look at my favorite lake in the world before heading east and then north into the Keweenaw Peninsula.  As peninsulas go, the Keweenaw Peninsula is a better example of a peninsula than the Upper Peninsula itself.  It's the long arm that reaches further up into Lake Superior than the rest of the U.P.  It's true.  Look it up on a map. 

"Goodbye, Lake Superior. But don't worry, I'll be back to see you in a few days," I said.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Then it started raining.  It was a light rain, but I still thought it prudent to put the raincoats on my panniers.  Just in case, I put a raincoat on me too.  I also put my tent in a trash bag.  I hate setting up a wet tent.

In the next picture, you will see Son of Bing overlooking the Ontonagon River in full rain gear.  The river empties into Lake Superior about a half-mile from here.

Heart 3 Comment 0

It stopped raining at the top of the hill that rose out of the Ontonagon River valley.  Call me cocky, but I believed I could outsmart the Rain Division of the Church of the Great Outdoors by leaving our rain gear on.  I had a strong feeling the rain would be back.

It wasn't raining five miles up the road yet, so I felt a little foolish--and sweaty--riding in a rain jacket.  It was at that point where I stopped to grab a handful of beef jerky and noticed how the road was drying, yet all of the depressions in the rumble strips were full of water.

I think these were the deepest rumble strips I've ever accidentally swerved into. I almost lost control. When I recovered, I had to look back to see if my panniers were still attached.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Most of the U.P. is politically conservative, especially when it comes to guns. Even the Democrats vote to preserve gun rights. Either the owner of this property is a hard core gun lover, or I was right about Martians wanting to take over our world.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Emily SharpI always thought the Martians would have superior technology when they came to take over, but maybe it's trying to blend in Men In Black style.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Emily SharpMartians are very tricky.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
That mountain ahead is bald.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Except for Lake Superior, this was the largest expanse of view-blockerless land I have seen since day one.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rain can be fun. I laugh at rain. Or at least I smile at rain.
Heart 3 Comment 4
Bruce LellmanThat's really the only way to treat rain unless it's a very cold rain and then sneering is the way to go.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bruce LellmanYup
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Karen PoretTo Gregory GarceauAnd another exception is rain and sand = trouble. I am proof..positive! :(
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Karen PoretEven on paved roads, my bike accumulated a lot of sand.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
There were so many nice spots where I could have taken a picture, but I didn't because of the rain. I dug out my phone for this one because I couldn't resist.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I have never seen such a small snake. I thought it was just a toy snake, but upon further inspection, it's real. Real, but dead.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltIf you think that one is small, you should see a newborn!

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/28559-Storeria-occipitomaculata-occipitomaculata
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bill ShaneyfeltWow, the one in that guy's hand looks like a colorful angleworm. I've never seen anything like the one I saw.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 2
marilyn swettAnd you can get pasties!!!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo marilyn swettPasties are more available around here than cell phone coverage.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

I made it to my destination for the night.  Twin Lakes State Park wasn't as great as the Porcupine Mountains State Park, but it was pretty nice.  Despite the off and on rain, it felt like home.

Let's just say, Lake Roland is no Lake of the Clouds.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I can see Lake Roland from my campsite.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 33 miles (53 km)
Total: 185 miles (298 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Emily SharpGlad to see you riding in the rain to maintain your Tough Guy status. But I would think that any day with a pastie is a good day, even if it rains, though. And hey, it looks like you had the campground mostly to yourself!

And... if the inside of the tent is dry, your sleeping bag is dry and you've got a dry set of clothes... it's actually pretty nice to cuddle up in the bag all warm and cozy and listen to rain on the fly. Hope that's the experience you had!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Emily SharpYes, it was the experience I had.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago