Greg Provides Alternate Definitions For Two Words - Me & The U.P. - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2024

Greg Provides Alternate Definitions For Two Words

Porcupine Mountains Wilderness State Park (Presque Isle River Campground)

Today's ride was 96% pleasant . . . and 4% fantastic.  For me, "pleasant" isn't just a nice way of saying "meh, it was okay."  It means I had a damn good day.  That being said, it should be pretty obvious that my "fantastic" is also pretty low key.  To everybody else, it would be "wow, that's some of the greatest stuff any cyclist has ever experienced." 

I'm going to get through the pleasant stuff as quickly as possible but, man, am I ever going to write a lot of words about the fantastic stuff.   So I better get down to business immediately.  

THE PLEASANT STUFF

First, when I checked out this morning, the motel owners said "no" to my request to leave my car in their parking lot for a couple weeks.  I was okay with that because this was one of the rare occasions I had an alternative plan.   I drove to the public parking lot I noticed while biking through the downtown area yesterday.   It was right by the police station, so I went inside where a cop assured me I could park there for multiple nights without getting towed away.  So that's where I loaded my gear onto my bike and began pedaling eastward with tons of pleasant glee.

Second, it was short day and a fairly easy day.  Sure, there were a few billion view-blockers, but that didn't detract from the pleasantness at all. In fact, they might have enhanced the pleasantness by expanding their blocking skills to include wind-blocking.

Third, the Iron Belle Trail turned out to be a pretty nice route for the first ten miles of my day.   The next few miles on the four-lane highway between Bessemer and Wakefield weren't bad either.

Fourth, there was just enough sun that I could ride in short-sleeves, and just enough clouds that I didn't have to slather sunscreen all over me to prevent such things as painful sunburn and cancerous melanoma.

All in all, the first 26-miles of the day was a very pleasant ramble.   It was so nice that I slowed down to soak it all in.  I just didn't want the ride to end.

Before I get to the last five miles that really, REALLY made my day special, please look at a few of my pictures and captions.

Bike loaded and ready to go
Heart 6 Comment 0
The first lake, complete with what looks like a huge beaver lodge
Heart 12 Comment 0
A view of green hills from a truss bridge
Heart 6 Comment 0
Overlooking the historic mining town of Bessemer
Heart 7 Comment 0
This rocky mound was pleasantly pleasing to my senses.
Heart 6 Comment 0
From front to back: Son of Bing Bong, a garden of Purple Missile Flowers, Sunday Lake
Heart 9 Comment 0
This guy looks like he could gore a few people at Pamplona's Running of the Bulls. I made friends with him anyway.
Heart 7 Comment 0
All of the rivers and streams around here have the rusty hue of iron ore.
Heart 7 Comment 0
A convoy of logging trucks
Heart 3 Comment 0
View-blockers galore
Heart 5 Comment 0

THE FANTASTIC STUFF

Here is the point where things got exciting.   It started when I pulled onto a gravel road to urinate.  When I was done with that task, I pedaled back to the main road and had to stop for a car speeding by, which was surprising because I hadn't seen a car for quite a while.   Suddenly, that car hit the brakes.   I worried that maybe the driver saw me and wanted to ask a bunch of questions.   To my relief, he continued on down the hill.   Then he came to a complete stop and I saw why.

I have to admit that I knew my chances of seeing either a bear or a moose in the U.P. were, in reality, pretty slim.   But I'll be damned, when I looked down the hill, a black bear was standing in the very lane I was riding on a few minutes earlier.   The car was stopped in the other lane, waiting for him to cross.  The bear seemed to be in no hurry to cross though.

I looked at the bear for several seconds and I think he was looking at me.  I was stunned.  A better nature photographer would have his camera readily at hand.   I was slow to get my phone out of my pocket and zoom in, but at least I managed some evidence of my bear sighting.  If you look closely at the next photo, you can see its back legs.  The rest of him had already sauntered in front of the car.  

Cars can be both evil and good. I cursed the car for blocking a full view of the bear, yet I also know I would never have seen the bear in the first place if I hadn't looked back to see why the car was slowing down.
Heart 9 Comment 1
Emily SharpLOL... cursed view blocker... maybe it was karma for always bad-mouthing those other view-blockers!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Shortly after the wildlife sighting, I climbed another hill and got a glimpse of my favorite lake in the world.
Heart 9 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltA superior view, indeed!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Bruce LellmanI guess we can both have Lake Superior as our favorite lake in the world.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

I was still about four miles away from Lake Superior when I took that picture, but I had the advantage of being 700-feet above Superior level.  Not even view-blockers can overcome a straight shot down from that elevation.

Admittedly, the view-blockers quickly regained the upper hand well before I reached the bottom of that hill.  I didn't see the lake again until I got to my campsite. 

Heart 8 Comment 0
I got a complete picture of this wild animal.
Heart 10 Comment 1
Emily SharpOn my tablet, that deer looks like a sticker or like it's been photoshopped in the way it stands out from the pavement. I love the deer's tiny shadow - mid-day near the longest day of the year!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

After checking in at the ranger station, I raced down to the campground.  It's touted as a rustic campground, and it lived up to its name.  No electricity, no dump station, no lighting to help folks get to the pit toilets without a flashlight, no wifi, not even cell phone service.  It did have water though.  The cool thing was that you had to walk a hundred yards into the woods to get it.  And you had to use your arm strength to get the water out of the ground via a big steel pump.  I loved it.

The best thing of all, however, was that I had a view of the greatest lake in the world from my site.  Yes, the view was partially obstructed by view-blockers, but I had a plan to overcome that.

My campsite picture
Heart 9 Comment 4
Emily SharpWhat a lovely spot - I love it when the view-blockers provide some shade, too.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Emily SharpIt really was a nice campsite. I agree that view-blockers are nice on a hot day, but it got pretty chilly here in the late afternoon, so I cursed them as being sun-blockers.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Paul MulveyWell would you look at that. It's Jim the tent. Does his opinion of view-blockers match yours? Because he's definitely not getting a tan where he's pitched in the shade.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Paul MulveyNope, that's Mike the Tent. Jim the Tent was Mike's predecessor. It was replaced just before my tour of Idaho. Anyway, Mike actually likes view-blockers.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
I hiked down to the Lake Superior shoreline.
Heart 13 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
The star of this journal points to the World's Greatest Lake.
Heart 12 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 83 miles (134 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 15
Comment on this entry Comment 13
Bruce LellmanI love your photos and journal. I love this part of the world. What a great bike you have. And, I love that big lake. Thank you.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bruce LellmanThank you, Bruce. More Lake Superior to come.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Andrea BrownTo Gregory GarceauThat's "Boof" to you, buddy.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Keith AdamsI visited PMWSP last year (by car) as I was on my way west to YOUR State. I wanted to see what real, genuine, honest-to-Pete old growth forest looks like, and that's one of the few places in the country where it's possible. You've chosen a great place to visit-- but you don't need *me* to tell you that, do you?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Andrea BrownI was going to say Boof, but I was afraid maybe that nickname had run its course. Boof it is from now on.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Andrea BrownTo Gregory GarceauSometimes in the middle of some random boring happening I'll remember the Boof story and start to snicker, thus cheering myself up (and annoying those around me). The Boof must abide as long as he still makes us laugh.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauAm I correct in assuming you made a Big Lebowski reference? Like "The Dude" in that great movie, The Boof must abide.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Andrea BrownThe Dude abides. https://youtu.be/EsKoxi12jbI?si=DQtFTebmY6Ec-aT2
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Andrea BrownTo Gregory GarceauBoof is an inveterate 'Big Lebowski' fan. Those phrases are part of our everyday conversation.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Andrea BrownThen I don't have to remind either one of you that the Coen brothers are Minnesota boys.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Bruce LellmanTo Gregory GarceauWait, I go away from this fabulous journal for less than 24 hours and now I see that new shit has come to light, man!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bruce LellmanDon't get uptight, just calm down with a White Russian.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Rachael AndersonWhat a fantastic day!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago