Day 6 - Stillwater to Hastings - TOM - CycleBlaze

June 21, 2024

Day 6 - Stillwater to Hastings

Shortcut

The rain started at about 4:30 am and was pretty steady by the time I decided to pack up. I managed to take the tent down without removing the rain fly. For the first time this week I added rain pants to my ensemble, so I started the day dry from head to almost toe. My shoes were still wet and the water quickly soaked my socks.

Due to the stormy forecast Doobie cut 26 miles out of the route, reducing it to 31 miles from 57.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The change sent us down a scenic highway that had something we had seen little of this week: several steep fairly long climbs. I didn’t pay attention as I was climbing, but someone told me they were at 10% grade. I saw many riders off their bikes walking them up the hills. I’m glad I changed out my cassette  to one with bigger cogs before the tour. I might have been one of them otherwise.

The rain stopped about halfway through the ride, then started again when I got to Hastings. The rain was on again off again the rest of the day. I took my rain pants off at the halfway point. The pants and my rain jacket were as wet inside as outside.

This farm equipment was brand new recently. It has rusted in the rain.
Heart 2 Comment 0
That drawbridge looks like a couple of giant metal robots in the distance.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crossing the Mississippi River to Hastings. A few miles earlier we came within spitting distance of Wisconsin, which north of Hastings is separated from Minnesota by the St.Croix River.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Interesting houses in Hastings.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

We get to camp in the gym tonight! I’m so glad I didn’t have to pitch my tent in the rain. It’s supposed to be stormy again tonight and tomorrow.

Minnesota skier outside the window of the school.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We couldn’t get into the gym until 3:00 pm, so after lunch I rode (in the rain again) down the hills to the Spiral Brewery. Two bikers from Green Bay, Wisconsin were already there, so we sat together. One of them bought a round of beers for the three of us. I thought I would return the favor by buying a second round. Not to be outdone the other guy insisted on buying beer as well. Needless to say we were there a while. Got back to the school just in time to take a shower before a 5:30 group picture.

Spiral Brewery
Heart 1 Comment 0
The bridge the brewery is named after. It was completed in 1895 as a wagon road, and was the first structure to carry US highway 61 across the Mississippi River at Hastings. It was demolished in 1951.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Tomorrow is the last day of the tour and  is a short day as well, about 28 miles. I’m confident that it will live up to the rest of the week. Wet.

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 249 miles (401 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0