In Palencia: Day 2 - The Seven Year Itch - CycleBlaze

May 9, 2024

In Palencia: Day 2

You’ve already seen something of our morning.  We went out to lunch, and I took a few more photos of town.  After lunch we both got out again later in the day.  Rachael went for a walk along the river and then across into the hills west of town.  It looks and sounded very pleasant.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

I went birding of course, to a lake-like slack bend in the Pisguera that looked like a good birding spot.  All in all, I think Rachael had the better of it this time. 

The ride started out pleasantly, on a riverside bike path that crosses the Carrión river here, follows it to the south of town, recrosses it and turns back north. About two miles longer than the direct route east, but much quieter.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Carrión River. It will merge in to the Pisuerga (the river that splits Valladolid) just south of town.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The cottonwood fluff was terrible. I was hacking and choking by the time I left the river.
Heart 1 Comment 0
About six miles into the ride I left the pavement for a short cutting connector. It was fine, but on the way back I stayed on the pavement and added a mile.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A view along the way.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crossing the Pisuerga River. Just on the other side I’ll turn off onto a dirt track to follow the river to an alleged birding hot spot.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This track was fine too, except for this short stretch where the spray from a field irrigation system would intermittently pivot and douse it. I timed my ride and dashed across, dodging puddles and beating the spray.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The track got worse and muddy, so I got off and walked. I gradually realized the bike was getting quite difficult to push.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Scott AndersonNot fun, especially knowing I had to run the gauntlet a second time.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
This seems to be the problem.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Angela NaefUgh! That took a bit of clean up!
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Scott AndersonTo Angela NaefYup. Fortunately there were a few sticks, a broad-leafed weed nd my water bottle handy or they might not have let me back in the hotel. It’s a good thing that I did most of it right away because after it dried it turned to concrete.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
This didn’t help either.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’m across now, might as well keep going to the hot spot.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Very nice, but no birds to speak of. All for nothing.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Unfortunately, it’s an out and back.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The worst part.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A road cut on the way back shows what we’re dealing with. The clay reminds me of the kaolinite formations in southern Utah.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 23 miles (37 km)
Total: 1,399 miles (2,251 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0