Mississippi River Trail - Planning the adventure - Mississippi River Trail - Minneapolis to New Orleans - CycleBlaze

Mississippi River Trail - Planning the adventure

I retired in March, had my knee replaced April 1st and have been riding my bike to rehab my knee.  Two years ago, my wife and I did a bike tour along the Rhine River.  We spent a month traveling from Amsterdam to Basel and took a train from Basel to Andermatt and then rode from Andermatt back to Basel.  A little convoluted but it worked.  It was an amazing trip!

Since then, I’ve wanted to do another bike trip and now that I’m retired (my wife is still working), I decided now is the time.  Originally, planned to ride from Minneapolis to Bar Harbor, Maine, but timing wasn’t going to work, because I’d be in peak fall leaf color and traffic and prices would be too high.  So decided to ride the Mississippi from Minneapolis to New Orleans.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Mark BinghamLooks like quite the adventure!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
George HallInteresting route, I'll be following along. I rode from New Orleans to Muscatine, IA in 2022, and my route intersects/overlaps with yours in at least a few places; Burlington, Cape Girardeau, Natchez, and New Orleans. You may find a nugget or 2 from my journal that helps your planning, at least in those overlap areas; https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/warriorsdeathii/ Best of luck with the adventure
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago