05/12/24 San Jose, end of the road - south - CycleBlaze

May 12, 2024

05/12/24 San Jose, end of the road

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today was my last day of riding south. I feel good about that, nothing was pulling me further. 


In other news I was finally was able to tweak the squeak so it was pleasant, silent pedaling. 

Leaving San Ramón early to avoid getting caught in the afternoon rain
Heart 1 Comment 0
I swerved to avoid a what I thought was a log on the shoulder and went back for another look. Better than coffee to wake me up, this guy was very much alive. I was eager for sunrise after this
Heart 1 Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltWhen I was in high school and college I really wanted a boa constrictor.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boa_constrictor
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Betsy EvansI second the 'yikes' comment!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Here it comes
Heart 2 Comment 0
Pretty but oh so humid after all the rain
Heart 4 Comment 0
I was frequently having to wipe my mirrors and glasses. It got better after the sun had been out for a while.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gentrification
Heart 0 Comment 0
Toll booth, the attendant came out to move the barricade and wave me past
Heart 2 Comment 0
Good cell reception
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretGood old “telephone tree”;)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
No roadside businesses and me without breakfast or snacks (too much rain to shop). I bonked after 20 miles and had to stop and nap for a while, and ate the cough drops I found in my bag
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretDon’t conk out on the bike, David! Be careful, please!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Draining the evening showers
Heart 2 Comment 0
From the bridge I was able to look down at the tops of the trees and noticed they were all swaying in spite of no wind. They were full of monkeys, dozens of monkeys but only one would pose
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltPanamanian white-faced capuchin

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Panamanian_white-faced_capuchin
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
The road turned into a 6 lane expressway approaching San Jose and the shoulder disappeared
Heart 0 Comment 0
Without question this was the most nerve wracking riding I’d ever done. No way to get off and the city folk were not courteous. I got lots of “get off the road” honks which just added to the stress. Not fun at all
Heart 0 Comment 1
I was glad when this alternative appeared
Heart 2 Comment 0
Nearing downtown
Heart 0 Comment 0
I cut through a park where lots of Sunday soccer was being played
Heart 0 Comment 0
At last a bike path
Heart 4 Comment 0
This is as far south as I’m going on this trip, and that felt like it deserved a reward. The view from the 12th floor of the Raddison
Heart 4 Comment 2
Robert BryceI hope you had a nice meal as well. You deserve it!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Patrick O'HaraCongratulations, David. Hope you're able to sit, have a beer or two and chill for a few days.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
December 8, 2023 - May 12, 2024
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 4,067 miles (6,545 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rich FrasierCongratulations! That was a hell of a bike ride!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago