05/09/24 Cabinas Puesta del Sol - south - CycleBlaze

May 9, 2024

05/09/24 Cabinas Puesta del Sol

Heart 0 Comment 0

Kind of a meh day. I’m headed up into higher elevations, hoping to get to San Jose in a few days.  I can either write about the weather or not. I just accept being dripping wet and imagine my escape once I get to San Jose. I’m 100% not going to Panama. 

I passed this massive furniture shop
Heart 3 Comment 0
It’s huge
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking out towards the Nicoya peninsula across the bay of the same name
Heart 2 Comment 0
I left at 4:30 hoping to beat the heat, no shade for the first 20 miles
Heart 0 Comment 0
Then the road dropped down into this, and it wasn’t too bad. If only traffic were like this the whole time. There were a lot of trucks but drivers would generally hang back on the shoulderless road until it was safe to pass. Generally, but there’s always one or two. The highway is getting prepped for expanding to a 4 lane freeway (note the wide gravel shoulder in the previous picture) but it will be years before it’s done. There are lots of roadside restaurants and other businesses which stand to go under when it happens. Virtually all the roadside business along the completed stretch out of Libera are gone. Progress
Heart 0 Comment 0
These nice tree tunnels will have to go when the road widens
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’m stopped at one such business, for the night. A hotel and restaurant on the side of the road
Heart 0 Comment 0
The pool was nice
Heart 2 Comment 0
The only place for food for miles, so overpriced but good
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 4,003 miles (6,442 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0