05/08/24 IDA Station JTS - south - CycleBlaze

May 8, 2024

05/08/24 IDA Station JTS

15% grade at the top, it was a struggle even to push
Heart 0 Comment 0

Riding my bike  to an IDA station has been something I’ve wanted to do ever since I got interested in long distance touring some 17 years ago and today I finally did it.   

It’s a mere 8 miles from Limonal to the station. I’d left my panniers at the hotel so I was hoping for an easy ride and it was, relatively speaking. But really, nothing is easy in this weather
Heart 2 Comment 0
I’d arranged with the caretaker to ensure the gate would be unlocked, but was early so I stopped in the town of Las Juntas to cool down and kill time. Mostly to cool down
Heart 0 Comment 0
Across the river (buzzards lurking in the bottom)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Past the statue. It’s all coming back to me, I know I’m on the right track
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pretty rooster
Heart 2 Comment 0
It’s starting to get steep and rocky and several people who passed me assumed I must be lost. There’s an “eco-hotel” nearby but not up this road. I’d considered staying there but the price was steeper than the hill to get there. I knew I was going in the right direction, this was all matching my memories exactly
Heart 0 Comment 0
This monster of a hill is a lot steeper than it looks in the picture. I was already hoofing it at this point
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here’s a shot of the above taken from the side, before it steepened
Heart 0 Comment 0
The gate was open, yes!
Heart 2 Comment 0
He’s just waiting for me to keel over
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hike-a-bike up an even steeper and very loose hill and I have arrived. I’m sure there was a hallelujah chorus at this point but I couldn’t hear it for the buzzing in my brain
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was trying to remember the lock combination when Jose Ángel arrived. He remembered me from my previous visit and was gratifyingly impressed to see me with a bicycle
Heart 2 Comment 0
It took a lot of tries to get a proper picture. Jose Ángel said he’d never taken a photograph before in his life… that’s something to think about.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Inside the recording building. The rack in the left is IDA equipment controlling the sensors and communications to the cloud. The rack on the right belongs to CTBTO (Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Organization) who pull a copy of the data
Heart 0 Comment 0
It doesn’t look like much, but my professional career is buried in here
Heart 1 Comment 0
The seismometers are in an adjacent tunnel. It was originally used to store dynamite for use in the gold mine nearby, but the mine is played out and closed
Heart 2 Comment 0
Three sets of doors to get to the vault, to minimize the effects of weather on the sensors
Heart 1 Comment 0
The seismometers are under the insulating foam, digitizers and other equipment in the black case
Heart 1 Comment 0
This was taken when I was here in 2011, installing one of the sensors. These have since been replaced with more modern versions. The thing to note in here is how small my bald spot was
Heart 2 Comment 0
My visit is obvious to anyone paying attention to the data. The small wiggles in the middle are from a distant earthquake (likely the South Pacific), the large pulses are me in the vault. You can see I entered twice, the second time to ensure the bottom of the door was sealed with gravel to keep creatures from entering. The wiggles below the pulses are from an earthquake probably somewhere in Central America
Heart 0 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraFascinating stuff!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

I now need to think about where to go next. When I began this adventure I figured I’d get to Panama and the literal end of the road and from there transport myself to Cartagena and carry on south. But ever since I dropped down from the Guatemala highlands and into the hot and sticky air it’s been unmitigated misery.  It’s only been the wish to reach JTS that has kept me going this far. I’ve got a few ideas and none of them involve Panama. Time for a beer and a think. 

Today's ride: 16 miles (26 km)
Total: 3,973 miles (6,394 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Karen PoretQuite an accomplished feat, David! Too bad the weather isn’t cooperating for a more enjoyable trip…
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Robert BryceGreat story Dave. Glad you made it!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago