The End - Slovenia 2024 - CycleBlaze

The End

I had planned to ride from Udine to my finishing point near Venice but a forecast of continuous rain convinced me to take the train. That was the end of my ride.

Slovenia was the point of this adventure and it didn’t disappoint. The natural features - caves, rivers, mountains, general landscapes - are outstanding. 

Virtually everyone I interacted with was lovely and almost all spoke English. At times I struggled to get my bike and bags up steps or onto a train and every time someone sprang into action and helped me while looking like they were having the time of their life.

Fantastic infrastructure for cycling and easy to use public transport.

I had some great meals but some were serviceable not outstanding.

Although I was frustrated to be rained into spending longer than I would have liked in Zagreb I did enjoy it there. It’s a lively working city with some wonderful sights and some not so attractive ones. The people, like the Slovenians, were all helpful and nice and spoke good English.

The weather wasn’t great. if I were to do the trip over, I would start around the first of May. I had to work around a date that meant I had to start when I did, or start at the beginning of June. I made my choice because I thought it could be too hot in June.

My bike was fantastic all the way. 

Thanks for reading.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0